Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Nercwys
(The alternative - anglicised - spelling, "Nerquis", is often found in older documents)
Nercwys is regarded as being one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire; although it was a chapelry of the ancient parish of Mold until, on 27 May 1844, it officially became a separate parish, comprising the townships of Nercwys and Arddunwent.
In practice, Nercwys had long operated as a separate parish, although it was held jointly with Treuddyn until 1832.
- Doyle, Patrick J The
Giffards of Nerquis Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 24 1969/70 Welsh
Journals Online
- Griffiths, David.
Nercwys - fy atgofion i = Nercwys as I knew it Caerwys : Gwasg Gwenffrwd, 1973.
- Griffiths, Michael and Paul S. Parry.
In search of the coal mines of Nercwys Greenfeild : Greenfield Valley Historical Society, [1997]
- Jones, George, Sychtyn.
Cofiant y Parch. John Davies, Nerquis Gwrecsam : Argraffwyd gan Hughes a'i Fab, 1907.
- Jones, George.(Nerquis, gynt)
George Ingman, Nerquis Yr Wyddgrug : Swyddfa J. Ll. Morris, 1885.
- Nercwys : Nercwys 2000 Millennium Committee. Wrexham : Bridge Books, c2000.
- Roberts, Gladys L.
A stroll down memory lane in "Olde" Nercwys [Buckley] : [Gladys Lloyd Roberts] 1999.
- Smith, B. & M. Blagojovic and J. Phillips. An afternoon visit to Coed Nercwys
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2004), p. 55-57.
- Williams, Peter Howell. Elizabeth Giffard of Nerquis Hall. [Part 1]
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 27 (Autumn 1991), p. 2-11
- Williams, Peter Howell. Elizabeth Giffard of Nerquis Hall. [Part 2]
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 28 (Spring 1992), p. 12-17
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 234604.
The earliest reference to a church at Nercwys dates from 1291.
The church was extensively restored and enlarged in 1847, and again in 1883.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nercwys church - on CPAT
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Nerquis
(sic):
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Zoar |
Calvinistic Methodist |
194 |
| Not named |
Wesleyan |
72 |
Church Records
"The earliest register begins with 1665, and had a narrow escape many years ago, when thieves broke into the church and carried away the iron box in which they were kept; and being disappointed at not finding the Communion plate, set fire to the registers."
[From
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , Ven. D.R. Thomas, 1908]
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1665 - 1960 |
1669 - 1970 |
1669 - 1856 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1665 - 1812 |
1669 - 1812 |
1669 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1670 - 1851 |
1670 - 1851 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1813 - 1851 |
C056671 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Nercwys area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Zoar |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1829 |
C098411 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Nercwys area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| "Baptisms by Revd. John Davies" |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1834 - 1879 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Nercwys was assigned to the No. 4 ("Mold") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Nercwys are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Nercwys - on wikipedia
Nercwys photographs - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- Not quoted.
- In 1901- the population was 803.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 2280 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 8 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks