Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Northop / Llaneurgain
"This place, which has obtained its present appellation in contradistinction to East, or Queen's Hope, was by the Welsh called "Llan-Eurgain," from the dedication of its first church to St. Eurgain, niece of St. Asaph, the second bishop of the see which from him derived its name. The parish, which is of very considerable extent, is situated on the estuary of the Dee, by which it is bounded on the north-east, and is traversed by the roads from Chester to Holyhead, and from Mold to Holywell, which cross each other near the church. .... The village, which is large, is pleasantly situated in a fertile and beautiful tract of country, abounding with finely varied and highly picturesque scenery, and is surrounded on all sides by elegant villas and handsome seats, inhabited by opulent families. .... The parish is rich in mineral treasure: coal and lead-ore have been worked here for several centuries; an extensive colliery is still carried on in the hamlet of Soughton, and several shafts are now being sunk on the Northop Hall estate, in the hamlets of Northop and Kelsterton."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, S. Lewis, 1834]
Northop is one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire, and originally consisted of the eight townships of Caerfallwch, Golftyn, Kelsterton, Leadbrook Major, Leadbrook Minor, Northop, Soughton (or Sychtyn) and Wepre.
In 1844, the townships of Leadbrook, Kelsterton, Golftyn and Wepre went to the newly created parish of Connah's Quay.
(In 1872, the two townships of Leadbrook were transferred from Connah's Quay to Flint.)
In 1865, part of the township of Caerfallwch went to the newly created parish of Rhydymwyn.
In 1876, the remainder of the township of Caerfallwch went to the newly created parish of Caerfallwch.
- Bartlett, J. and K. M. Ellis. Remembering the dead in Northop:
Journal of Contemporary History, 34 (April 1999)
- Devlin, Mike. Tranquillity and infamy in Northop
Country Quest. (September 2005), p. 14-15
- Evans, David Sir Price
Davies, Rector of Blisland Parish: Two letters, 1763, 1765 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 24 1969/70 Welsh
Journals Online
- Hawkes, G I. The Astbury family of Hawarden parish and of Galchog Hall, Northop
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 18 (Spring 1994), p. 16-31
- Jennings, J M Further notes on the Reverend Price
Davies Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 24 1969/70 Welsh
Journals Online
- Jones, P. Bryan. Life in Starkey Lane, Northop and Flint Mountain 1914-1936 (with special reference to the Carter family) from the diaries of the Revd. J.A.M. Sheal
Hel achau, No. 98 (September 2008), p. 17-18
- Lloyd, George Owen Jones of Northop Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 21 1964 Welsh
Journals Online
- Phillips, J. A circular walk from Northop including part of Wat's Dyke
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, 2009, p. 92-94
- Pritchard, T W Northup
Grammar school Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 29 1979/80 Welsh
Journals Online
- Rawsthorne, Lawrence.
The library of the Bankes family of Soughton Hall and Mynachlog, in Northop, Clwyd : Mold : Clwyd County Council Library and Information Service, c1994
- Sheal, John Allen. The Rev John Allen Sheal's diaries
Hel achau, No. 98 (September 2008), p. 18-26
- Sheal, John Allen. The Rev. John Allon [sic. Allen] Sheal's diaries, 1911-1937 at Ty Gwyn, Starkey Lane, Northop, Flintshire
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 55 (Autumn 2006), p. 24-28
- Smith, P and P Hayes Llyseurgain
and the tower Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 22 1965/6 Welsh
Journals Online
Church History
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Northrop Hall, English Presbyterian Chapel
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 246685.
There is evidence of a church at Northop as early as the 6th century. The present building was extensively re-built in 1840, and underwent further alterations in 1877.
The church is dedicated to Saints Peter and Eurgain.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Northop :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Pantygof - Welsh |
Baptist |
95 |
| Bethel, Rhosesmor |
Calvinistic Methodist |
226 |
| Salem |
Calvinistic Methodist |
107 |
| Sychtyn |
Calvinistic Methodist |
146 |
| Jerusalem, Rhosesmor - Welsh |
Congregational |
38 |
| Bryn Seion, Sychtyn - Welsh |
Congregational |
97 |
| Not named - English |
Congregational |
45 |
| Not named, Northop Hall |
English Presbyterian |
260 |
| Mount Gilead, Northop Hall |
Methodist New Connexion |
320 |
| Not named - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
40 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1590 - 1980 |
1590 - 1993 |
1590 - 1957 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1590 - 1812 |
1590 - 1812 |
1590 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1662 - 1852 |
1791 - 1852 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1813 - 1847 |
C061741 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Northop area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Salem |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1806 - 1837 |
C098341 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Northop area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Northop Hall (not named) |
Wesleyan Methodist |
Baptisms |
1863 - 1933 |
- Note - This Wesleyan Methodist chapel was grouped into a "Circuit", with one set of registers serving the Circuit.
It may not always be possible to identify the particular chapel in which the ceremony was performed.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Northop was assigned to the No. 3 ("Flint") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Northop are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Northop Village site
Northop - on wikipedia
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 3026.
- In 1901- the population was 1550.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 3260 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 9 April 2012 - Gareth Hicks