Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Pontblyddyn or Pontbleiddyn

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Pontblyddyn or Pontbleiddyn

The parish of Pontbleiddyn (or Pontblyddyn) was created on 23 May 1844, from "the township of Leeswood, excepting the houses and farms of Pentrehobyn and Tynewydd, the whole of the township of Hartsheath, and that part of the township of Bistre which lies south of the Mold and Broughton turnpike road".
All this area had been in the parish of Mold until that date.
(The new parish of Bistre was created on the same day, from other parts of the parish of Mold).

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pontblyddyn or Pontbleiddyn area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 272612.
Christ Church, Pontbleiddyn was opened in 1836, initially as a chapel of ease within the parish of Mold. It was intended to serve the population of the industrialised area around Leeswood, and was built hastily and at minimum cost. The original building proved to be unsuitable; and eventually it was demolished.
A new church was erected on the same site, and consecrated in 1865.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches Details of nonconformist churches in Pontbleiddyn and Leeswood are to be found under Mold.

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1836 - 1965 1839 - 1948 1836 - 1946

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1836 - 1851 1836 - 1843

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Type of Record Years Covered I.G.I. Batch Number
Baptisms 1836 - 1843 C056701
Marriages None -

Nonconformist Records

  • The following nonconformist registers for the Pontbleiddyn area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
Name of Chapel Denomination Type of Record Years Covered I.G.I. Batch Number
Bethel, Leeswood / Coed Llai Calvinistic Methodist Births and Baptisms 1821 - 1836 C100391
  • The following nonconformist registers for the Pontbleiddyn area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
    They have not been filmed; and they have not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
Name of Chapel Denomination Type of Record Years Covered
Bethel, Leeswood / Coed Llai Calvinistic Methodist Baptisms and Marriages 1866 - 1985
 

Civil Registration

The new parish of Pontbleiddyn was assigned to the No. 4 ("Mold") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Pontbleiddyn are found under:

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

Pontbleiddyn - on Old UK Photos

Pontbleiddyn - on the Times Past site

You can see pictures of Pontblyddyn or Pontbleiddyn which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pontblyddyn or Pontbleiddyn has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pontblyddyn or Pontbleiddyn to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ276605 (Lat/Lon: 53.136702, -3.083712), Pontblyddyn or Pontbleiddyn which are provided by:

Population

  • In 1831- Pontbleiddyn was not a separate parish.
  • In 1901- the population was 1417.
    Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]