Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Rhuddlan
"The mother parish comprises an area of 4110 acres in the ten townships of Crickin, Yscawen, Pentre, Brynbychan, Brynywal, Cefndy, Brynhedydd, Trellewelyn, Rhydorddwy and Rhyl ..... "
[From
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , Ven. D.R. Thomas, 1908]
Rhuddlan is one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire, featuring prominently in the Domesday book; at which time it was a stronghold of Robert, the nephew of Hugh Lupus, Earl of Chester.
On the 23rd May 1844, the townships of Rhyl and Brynhedydd were lost to the new parish of Rhyl; and more land was transferred from the parish of Rhuddlan to Rhyl shortly after the opening of the district church of St. Ann in 1896.
- Adgofion caredig am y diweddar Robert Hughes, Rhuddlan / gan 'Cyfaill', ynghyda crynodeb o'r bregeth angladdol gan y Parch E. Pan Jones, M.A., Ph.D., Mostyn.. Lerpwl : John Morris, 1887.
- Area book and book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Rhuddlan, Flintshire, Hundreds of Prestatyn and Rhuddlan : Colonel A.C. Cooke, Director-General of the Ordnance Surveys. London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1882
- Amos's presentation guide to Rhyl (with view of the town) Rhuddlan, St Asaph, Denbigh, Abergele, Pensarn and Prestatyn. Rhyl : Amos Brothers, 1887.
- Bartley, Derek A. Clwyd, Foryd or port river of Rhuddlan
Cymru a'r môr, 15 (1992), p. 51-73.
- Bell, D. Rhuddlan
(Writings by W.E.A. Members) 9 (1988), p. 37-9
- Blythin, Howell and Peter Scarll. An evening walk round historic Rhuddlan
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2001), p. 39-40
- Blockley, Kevin and Amelia Pannett. New work at Abbey Road Nurseries, Rhuddlan 2005/2006
Archaeology in Wales. 46 (2006), p. 128-135
- Copy of the roll of the expenses of King Edward the First, at Rhuddlan Castle, A.D. 1281, and 1282. ... Society of Antiquaries?, 18--]
- Edwards, S. C. & M. C. A. Wynne.
Historical guide to Rhuddlan Rhyl : D. Trehearn, [18--?]
- Edwards, Thomas.
Rhuddlan: 2nd ed Rhuddlan: M. J. Davis, [1916.]
- Edwards, Thomas C.
Rhuddlan Castle Rhuddlan: M. J. Davis, 1920. (& various dates)
- Eisteddfod Frenhinol Rhuddlan, 1850. Cyfrol 1, Y cyfansoddiadau buddugol ar y testun cadeiriol sef yr adgyfodiad. Y bryddest / gan Evan Evans o Ince; yr awdl gan William Williams, Llanrwst.Llundain : Simpkin, Marshall and Co., [1850?]
- Evidence of Mr. Henry Taylor ... given before the Municipal Corporation Commissioners, on the unreformed Flintshire corporations of Caergwrle, Caerwys, Overton, & Rhuddlan, etc. Flint : Thos. Jones, [1877.]
- Frimston, T.
Hanes Eglwys Fedyddiedig Rhuddlan Aberdar : Jenkin Howell, Argraffydd, 1885.
- Harris, D W.
Maritime history of Rhyl and Rhuddlan [Prestatyn] : [Books Prints & Pictures], [1991]
- Hodgkinson, Denise. Spotlight on Rhuddlan
Country Quest 28/10 (1988), p. 42-4
- Hoy, Tracey Lee.
Rhuddlan Bloomington, Ind. ; Milton Keynes : AuthorHouse, 2006
- James, J W.
Rhuddlan and its church [Rhuddlan] : Rhuddlan Parochial Church Council, 1991. (& 1968)
- Manley, John. Salvage excavations at Lôn Hylas, Rhuddlan, Clwyd
Archaeologia Cambrensis, Vol. 134 (1985), p. 230-235
- Morfa Rhuddlan, or, the Battle of Rhuddlan Marsh : by Alfred. Ruthin : Isaac Clarke, 1862.
- Owen, Hywel Wyn.
Rhai enwau lleoedd yng nghymydau Prestatyn a Rhuddlan Bangor : Ysgol y Gymraeg, Prifysgol Bangor, 2007.
- Owen, R M. St Mary's Church, Rhuddlan
Denbigh and its past 9 (1994), p. 4-8
- Phillips, Joe. Rhyl - Rhuddlan - Rhyl
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2001), p. 72-73
- Pollitt, P. Afon Clwyd from Rhuddlan to Kinmel Bay
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (1992), p. 27-8
- Poole, J.
Gleanings of the histories of Holywell, Flint, Saint Asaph, and Rhuddlan Holywell : J. Davies, 1831.
- Programme of the Eisteddfod Gadeiriol Rhuddlan which will be held (by kind permission of Capt. Rowley Conwy), in a spacious marquee on Friday, August 21, 1896. Rhyl : Pearce and Jones, [1896?]
- Programme [of] the third annual tea meeting in connection with the Wesleyan Chapel, to be held at the Town Hall, Rhuddlan on Thursday, 21st, March, 1901. Rhyl : Amos Bros., [1901?]
- Rhuddlan throughout the ages / [Rhuddlan Parochial Church Council]. [Rhuddlan] : [Rhuddlan Parochial Church Council], [1991]
- Quinnell, Henrietta ... [et al].
Excavations at Rhuddlan, Clwyd York : Council for British Archaeology, 1994.
- Roberts, Raymond.
The St. Asaph and Rhuddlan six [Connah's Quay] : [Raymond Roberts], 1992.
- St. Asaph, Rhuddlan, Dyserth and district : 4th ed. Cheltenham ; London : Ed. J. Burrow. & Co. Ltd., [n.d.]
- Taylor, Arnold.
Rhuddlan Castle 4th rev. ed. Cardiff : Cadw: Welsh Historic Monuments, 1987.
- Taylor, A J. A shipwreck near Rhuddlan in 1310
Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 31, (1983/1984), p.57-69.
- Thomas, Harry.
Rhyl & Rhuddlan Chorley, Lancs. : Countryside Publications, c1985.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 021781.
The earliest recorded mention of the church at Rhuddlan dates from the end of the Eighth Century. It features prominently in the Domesday book (AD 1086).
The church was extensively restored in 1870.
"The Church, dedicated to St. Mary, is an ancient structure, partly in the early style of English architecture, consisting of a nave, chancel, and north aisle; and containing some interesting monuments to the family of Bodryddan, especially one of white marble, erected to the memory of the Very Rev. W.D. Shipley, Dean of St. Asaph, who was buried in an elegant mausoleum adjoining, which was erected by himself during his life."
[From
Handbook for the Vale of Clwyd, William Davis, 1856]
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Rhuddlan :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Seion - Welsh |
Baptist |
120 |
| Ebenezer |
Calvinistic Methodist |
340 |
| Goshen - Welsh |
Congregational |
34 |
| Tabernacle - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
99 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1681 - 1918 |
1681 - 1918 |
1681 - 1934 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1681 - 1812 |
1682 - 1837 |
1681 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1681 - 1834 |
1681 - 1834 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1815 - 1834 |
C056711 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Rhuddlan area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Seion and Ebeneser, but not Gosen, have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Seion |
Baptist |
Births |
1826 - 1827 |
C098601 |
| Ebeneser |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1815 - 1837 |
C101211 |
| Gosen |
Presbyterian / Congregational |
Births and Baptisms |
1810 - 1837 |
? |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Rhuddlan area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Tabernacle |
Wesleyan |
Births and Baptisms |
1860 - 1900 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Rhuddlan was assigned to the No. 1 ("St. Asaph") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Rhuddlan are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: St. Asaph 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Rhuddlan - on wikipedia
Rhuddlan - on geograph.org.uk
Rhuddlan Castle - on Castle Wales
Rhuddlan Town Council
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 1506.
- In 1901- the population was 1151.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 4000 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 11 April 2011 - Gareth Hicks