We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Trelawnyd (Newmarket)

The name "Newmarket", now discontinued, dates back to 1700, in which year John Wynne of Copperlany obtained a faculty from the Bishop's Registry to change the name. John Wynne had already rebuilt most of the village, established several branches of industry, and set up a weekly market and an annual fair. The village and parish continued to be called Newmarket until 1954, when it was officially renamed as Trelawnyd.

An interesting snippet for family historians:

"Newmarket has for some years been the headquarters of the Mormonites, who have also a small meeting house here. These have however decreased very much of late, owing to emigration and other causes. Thirteen are at this present moment preparing to depart to the city of the Salt-Lake".
[From Handbook of the Vale of Clwyd , William Davis, 1856]
Trelawnyd is one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire. It was originally part of the parish of Dyserth, and appears to have become a separate parish some time between 1254 and 1291. It comprises four townships - Gop, Graig, Pentreffyddion and Rhydlyfnwyd.


  • Davies, Daphne and Ken.           Trelawnyd past & present           [Trelawnyd] : [Trelawnyd School Action Committee], [1985] & 1992
  • Emery, Gordon.         Prestatyn -Gop Hill & Trelawnyd          Chester : Gordon Emery, 1989.
  • Hadley, Roger  with Ken Davies.          Cerdded gyda hanes :          Gan Roger Hadley gyda Ken Davies ; cyfieithiad i'r Gymraeg gan Bryn Hughes = Walking with history : with details of seven walks between, in and around the villages of Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor, Flintshire, and notes on the history of the area ; Welsh translation by Bryn Hughes.
  • Irving,  J. &  P. Barnsley and J. Phillips.             Trelawnyd area             Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2004), p. 17-19
  • Roberts, Awen.            Eglwys Ebeneser Trelawnyd 1701-2001            Rhyl : Eglwys Ebeneser, Trelawnyd, 2001.
  • Scarll, P.         Trelawnyd loop and Gop Hill            Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2008), p. 51-52.
  • Scarll,  P.  and J. Phillips.         Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor Millennium Trail       Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2002), p. 20-22
  • Trelawnyd, the birth of a market town.       Country Quest, July 2007, p. 37..


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Trelawnyd (Newmarket) area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 088796.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Michael, was rebuilt in 1724, and restored between 1895 and 1897. It is very small, being only 55 feet long by 19 feet broad.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civilparish of Newmarket (sic):

Name of ChapelDenominationNumber of "adherents"
NazarethCalvinistic Methodist110
Capel Mawr - WelshCongregational166
Bethel - WelshWesleyan81

Church Records

  • The following nonconformist registers for the Trelawnyd area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
Name of ChapelDenominationType of RecordYears CoveredI.G.I. Batch Number
John Wynn's ChapelPresbyterian/ CongregationalBirths and Baptisms1797 - 1837C098471
  • The following nonconformist registers for the Trelawnydd area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden :
Name of ChapelDenominationType of RecordYears Covered
Capel Mawr / EbeneserCongregationalBaptisms1796 - 1842
1953 - 1968

Civil Registration

Note- in older civil registration and census records, the village and parish are usually described as "Newmarket".

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Trelawnyd was assigned to the No. 1 ("Whitford") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Trelawnyd are found under:

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Trelawnyd (Newmarket) which are provided by:

Trelawnyd - on wikipedia

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Trelawnyd (Newmarket) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

On Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ090797 (Lat/Lon: 53.306388, -3.367155), Trelawnyd (Newmarket) which are provided by:


  • In 1831- the population was 631.
  • In 1901- the population was 444.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]


Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 976 acres.