Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Trelawnyd (formerly Newmarket)
Trelawnyd is one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire. It was originally part of the parish of Dyserth, and appears to have become a separate parish some time between 1254 and 1291. It comprises four townships - Gop, Graig, Pentreffyddion and Rhydlyfnwyd.
The name "Newmarket", now discontinued, dates back to 1700, in which year John Wynne of Copperlany obtained a faculty from the Bishop's Registry to change the name. John Wynne had already rebuilt most of the village, established several branches of industry, and set up a weekly market and an annual fair. The village and parish continued to be called Newmarket until 1954, when it was officially renamed as Trelawnyd.
An interesting snippet for family historians:
"Newmarket has for some years been the headquarters of the Mormonites, who have also a small meeting house here. These have however decreased very much of late, owing to emigration and other causes. Thirteen are at this present moment preparing to depart to the city of the Salt-Lake".
[From
Handbook of the Vale of Clwyd , William Davis, 1856]
- Davies, Daphne and Ken.
Trelawnyd past & present [Trelawnyd] : [Trelawnyd School Action Committee], [1985] & 1992
- Emery, Gordon.
Prestatyn -Gop Hill & Trelawnyd Chester : Gordon Emery, 1989.
- Hadley, Roger with Ken Davies.
Cerdded gyda hanes : Gan Roger Hadley gyda Ken Davies ; cyfieithiad i'r Gymraeg gan Bryn Hughes = Walking with history : with details of seven walks between, in and around the villages of Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor, Flintshire, and notes on the history of the area ; Welsh translation by Bryn Hughes.
- Irving, J. & P. Barnsley and J. Phillips. Trelawnyd area
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2004), p. 17-19
- Roberts, Awen.
Eglwys Ebeneser Trelawnyd 1701-2001 Rhyl : Eglwys Ebeneser, Trelawnyd, 2001.
- Scarll, P. Trelawnyd loop and Gop Hill
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2008), p. 51-52.
- Scarll, P. and J. Phillips. Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor Millennium Trail
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2002), p. 20-22
- Trelawnyd, the birth of a market town.
Country Quest, July 2007, p. 37..
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 088796.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Michael, was rebuilt in 1724, and restored between 1895 and 1897. It is very small, being only 55 feet long by 19 feet broad.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Newmarket
(sic):
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Nazareth |
Calvinistic Methodist |
110 |
| Capel Mawr - Welsh |
Congregational |
166 |
| Bethel - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
81 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1696-1909 |
1699-1970 |
1696 - 1904 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1700 - 1812 |
1700 - 1836 |
1699 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1663 - 1858 |
1663 - 1858 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1820 - 1858 |
C056681 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Trelawnyd area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| John Wynn's Chapel |
Presbyterian/ Congregational |
Births and Baptisms |
1797 - 1837 |
C098471 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Trelawnydd area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Capel Mawr / Ebeneser |
Congregational |
Baptisms |
1796 - 1842
1953 - 1968 |
Civil Registration
Note- in older civil registration and census records, the village and parish are usually described as "Newmarket".
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Trelawnyd was assigned to the No. 1 ("Whitford") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Trelawnyd are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Trelawnyd - on wikipedia
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- the population was 631.
- In 1901- the population was 444.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 976 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 8 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks