We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
Brithdir in the Parish of Gelligaer
For full and up-to-date details of their holdings see the sites of Glamorgan Record Office and/or West Glamorgan Archives
The church is dedicated to St. David, is in the Benefice of Bargoed and Deri with Brithdir, and Diocese of Llandaff. Details of the present incumbent of this benefice can be found at the Church in Wales website. The church can be found at grid reference SO153018.
|Anglican Parish Registers
|No Registers have been deposited yet
|Non Conformist Registers Held at the Glamorgan Record Office, Cardiff
||OS Map Ref
"BRITHDIR, a chapelry in the parish of GELLYGAER, hundred of CAERPHILLY, county of GLAMORGAN, SOUTH WALES, 8 1/2 miles (S.E. by E.) from Merthyr-Tydvil, containing 792 inhabitants. This place, which is situated in a rich mineral district, has, within the last ten years, nearly doubled its population. This increase may be attributed to the establishment of the extensive ironworks on the estate of the Marquis of Bute, and to the collieries and other public works in the immediate vicinity, of which a more detailed account is given in the article on the parish of Gellygaer. The village is pleasantly situated on the banks of the river Romney, and the surrounding scenery, like that of the entire parish, combines numerous interesting features and a pleasing variety of picturesque and romantic beauty. The living is a perpetual curacy, annexed to the rectory of Gellygaer, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Llandaff. The chapel is a neat plain edifice, appropriately fitted up. At a short distance is a rude erect stone, about nine feet high, a monument of some remote period of antiquity, of which there are other remains in the vicinity." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1833) ) by Samuel Lewis
[Last Updated : 18 Oct 2002 Gareth Hicks]