Merthyr Tydfil
"The Welsh population of Merthyr is
gathered in large part from the mountains and wildish valleys
hereabouts, and includes some specimens of the race who (as the saying
goes) have no English, with a very large number of specimens who have
but little and utter it brokenly. Those of the lower class who can read
--- and almost all Welshmen, however poor or primitive, can read ---
generally read Welsh only; and in that respect, as indeed in most
respects, are far in advance of Englishmen of the same state in life,
who often can read nothing. To hear a poor and grimy Welshman, who
looks as if he might not have a thought above bread and beer, talk
about the poets and poetry of his native land, ancient and modern, is
an experience which, when first encountered, gives the stranger quite a
shock of agreeable surprise." (Wirt Sikes, 'Rambles and Studies in Old South Wales', 1881)
Archives and Libraries
- Merthyr Tydfil Central Library
High Street
Merthyr Tydfil
CF47 8AF
- Merthyr Tydfil Free Library
1886-1938: minutes, register of borrowers, list of papers and periodicals supplied to Penydarren Reading Room
[Merthyr Tydfil Central Library]
Bibliography
Here is a substantial reading list of books which relate to Glamorgan, either county or parish.
References to the town of Merthyr Tydfil at
Business and Commerce Records
- Merthyr Tydfil Gas Company
1868-1949: minutes, reports, accounts, wages books, correspondents,
specifications, plans, photographs [Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff]
- Brecon & Merthyr Tydfil Junction Railway Company
- 1859-1922: minutes, staff records, contracts, miscellaneous papers,
accident records, Board of Trade papers, correspondents with other
railways and with Railway Clearing House, correspondents and papers
relating to property, gas and water supplies etc
[Public Record Office, Kew, London - Reference: RAIL 65, 1057]
- 1860-69: act, general accounts and receipts, notes and plans etc
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: 736-740]
- 1860-1882: legal papers
[National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records]
- Evan Davies, grocer
1916-39: accounts
[National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records]
- WP Davies, grocer
1900-10: ledgers, vouchers
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff]
- Dowlais Gas Company
1855-1949: articles of association, register of shareholders, minutes, accounts
[Glamorgan Archive Service, cardiff]
- Dowlais Iron Company, iron and steel manufacturers and colliery proprietors
- c1783-c1930: letter books, correspondents, balance sheets,
accounts, legal papers, agreements, patents, staff and wages records,
plans, leases, deeds, photographs
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/DG]
- 1837-20th cent: Dowlais and East Moors Works records
[British Steel Records Centre, Shotton, Shotton Works, Deeside CH5 2NH - Reference: HMC list]
- Dowlais Savings Bank
1852-1890: records
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/DG section I box 4]
- JL Francis, chemist
1847-c1960: records
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff]
- Jeremiah Homfray & Company, ironfounders
- 1786-1833: corresp and papers, mainly relating to internal dispute
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/D Pe]
- 1786-88: accounts and correspondents
[National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records -Reference: MS 15593E]
- 1788: bills of lading
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/D Xhy 1/1-5]
- Rees Lewis, printer and publisher
1857-71: correspondents
[National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records - Reference: NLW MS 22436B]
- Plymouth Ironworks & Collieries
- 1809-41, 1891: account book, letter book
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/D X 357]
- 1852: printed business diary of Anthony Hill
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/D X 123/4]
- 1786-1813: letter book and furnace accounts
[National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records - Reference: NLW MSS 15334-38]
- 1805-19: partnership papers
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff]
- 1883-93: managers' diaries
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/D NCB]
- Simons family, solicitors
1849-1927: diary 1849, papers 1849-1927
[National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records]
- David Williams & Co Ltd, brewers
1833-54: ledgers
[Enquiries to Business Archives Council, The Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, Butler's Wharf, London SE1 2NQ]
Cemeteries
The Glamorgan Family History Society have produced a set of microfiche containing Monumental Inscriptions for the following burial grounds :-
- Parish Church of St. Tydfil's Well
Images of Pant Cemetery, near Merthyr Tydfil, by Brian Wagstaffe
Ynysgau Cemetery, Merthyr Tydfil (NB. - this site disappeared in
June 2006) - here (was) is a list of names from headstones later moved
to other cemeteries.
(The graveyard was attached to Ynysgau Independent
Chapel, which was built in 1749 and inaugurated in 1750. The graveyard
was one of the oldest in Merthyr with some tombsones/monuments dating
back to 1773 and 1776. The Chapel was demolished in March 1967 as part
of the Merthyr Town Improvement Plan. The remains of those buried at
Ynysgau Chapel were exhumed between 10th - 27th October 1969, and
re-interred at the Ffrwyd section of the Cefn Cemetery. Many of the old
tombstones were indecipherable with age and only some 49 names were
legible. Unfortunately, the chapel registers have not survived, it
appears that they were lost when the chapel was flooded (the chapel was
adjacent to the River Taff). Further unidentified human remains were
found at the site during excavation for a new road and were re-interred
at Cefn Cemetery on 6 March 1998.
Allan Harrison, June 2004)
Census
The Glamorgan Family History Society
have produced a set of microfiche containing an enumerated
transcription and a personal name index. These are available for the
years :
- 1841 - (Registration District of Merthyr Tydfil, includes Aberdare and Gelligaer)
- 1851 - HO107/2458 (Merthyr Tydfil Lower RSD)
- 1851 - HO107/2459 (Merthyr Tydfil Higher RSD)
Visit their website for information on how to purchase.
NB. "Merthyr Tydfil is divided into Upper and Lower districts for census and
registration purposes and Upper Merthyr Tydfil is 'officially' missing for
1841.
The Public Record Office cannot say whether it is lost or
destroyed.
The missing section includes all of the parish of Vaynor, most of
Penydarren, the top section of Cyfarthfa and most of Dowlais.
A part
of Dowlais is actually in the 'lower district" situated to the far east of
the main town and Dowlais High Street, the area north of the top of
Twynrodyn".(Adrian Hedges, March 2013)
The People's Collection Wales site has much material for Merthyr Tydfil, use the onsite search box
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of St Tydfil's Church
Chapels Database - a list of all known non-conformist chapels or other non-Anglican religions in the parish
Church Records
For full and up-to-date details of their holdings see the sites of Glamorgan Record Office
and/or West Glamorgan Archives
See Bap/Mar/Bur data on FreeReg
The church is dedicated to St. Tydfil's Well, is in the Benefice of
Merthyr Tydfil, St. David, and Diocese of Llandaff. Details of the
present incumbent of this benefice can be found at the Church in Wales website. The church can be found at grid reference SO050063 .
A transcription of the registers is available from the Glamorgan Family History Society for the years: Baptisms, 1703-1837, Marriages, 1717-1837, Burials, 1704-1838.
| Anglican Parish Registers Held at the Glamorgan Record Office, Cardiff |
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
Banns |
Bishops Transcripts |
| 1704-1960 |
1704-1843, 1846-1946 |
1704-1888 |
1792-1832 |
1717, 1724-1738, 1740-1837 |
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Merthyr Tydfil Ecclesiastical Parish records
" ....... including
facsimiles of parish registers, 1704-1873; papers relating to church
affairs, 1920-1948; accounts, 1921-1965; churchyard schedule, 1911;
photograph, 1928; personal papers of the Reverend Charles Edward Thomas
Griffith, 1885-1900; miscellaneous records, 1874"
Modern Parishes & Chapels of Ease :-
- Merthyr, St. David
- Merthyr, St Tydfil's Well
- St. Peter, Abercanaid
- Cyfartha - Parish formed in 1857 from Merthyr Tydfil
- Christ Church, Dowlais - (Christ Church) Parish formed in 1837 from Merthyr Tydfil
- All Saints, Dowlais
- St. Luke, Gellideg
- Christ Church, Georgetown
- St Mary & The Holy Innocents, Merthyr Vale
- St. John the Baptist, Troedyrhiw
- St. Matthias - Parish formed in 1900 from Merthyr Tydfil and Gelligaer
- St. Cynon - Chapel of Ease to Llanfabon, joined Treharris St. Matthias in 1951
| Non Conformist Registers Deposited |
| Chapel |
Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
OS Map Ref |
Deposited/
Copies |
| Tabernacle, Baptist |
- |
1981-1984 |
- |
SO 04750667 |
GRO |
| Zion, Baptist |
1794-1837 |
- |
1831-1838 |
SO 05230586 |
NLW |
| Adulam, Congregational |
1831(33?)-1837 |
- |
- |
SO 05100620 |
PRO/
WGAS |
| Bethesda, Congregational |
1809-1837 |
- |
- |
SO 04770645 |
PRO/
WGAS |
| Ynys-gau, Congregational |
1786-1837 |
- |
- |
SO 04770619 |
PRO/
WGAS |
| Zoar, Congregational |
1810-1837 |
- |
- |
SO 04970645 |
PRO/
WGAS |
| Quakers |
1878-1909 |
- |
- |
- |
GRO |
| Shiloh, Wesleyan |
1837-1906 |
- |
- |
SO 05040626 |
NLW |
| Shiloh, Wesleyan |
1906-1933 |
- |
- |
SO 05040626 |
WGAS |
|
Merthyr Tydfil Welsh Wesleyan
Circuit |
1807-1837
1906-1968 |
- |
- |
- |
WGAS |
GRO - Glamorgan Record Office, Cardiff
NLW - National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth
WGAS - West Glamorgan Archive Service
PRO - Public Record Office, London
A set of fiche have been produced by the Glamorgan Family History Society
covering the registers of Ebenezer Chapel, Merthyr Tydfil, for the
period 1793-1837. Visit their website for information on how to purpose
the fiche.
The following Religious Institutions are covered in the Mormon International Genealogical Index (IGI) :-
- Merthyr Tydfil, St. Tydfil's Well - Christenings (BT's), 1820-1858, Marriages, 1820-1837
- Merthyr Tydfil, Ynysgau Presbyterian - Christenings, 1786-1837
- Merthyr Tydfil, Zoar Independent - Christenings, 1810-1837
- Merthyr Tydfil, Adullam Independent - Christenings, 1833-1837
- Merthyr Tydfil, Bethesda Chapel Independent - Christenings, 1809-1837
- Merthyr Tydfil, Wesleyan Methodist - Christenings, 1807-1837
- Dowlais, Christchurch - Christenings (BT's), 1839-1863
- Dowlais, Bethany Independent - Christenings, 1825-1837
- Dowlais, Bryn Sion formerly Bethel Independent - Christenings, 1829-1837
- Dowlais, Hermon Calvinistic Methodist - Christenings, 1828-1837
- Pont Morlais, Calvinistic Methodist - Christenings, 1807-1837
- Pont Morlais, English Wesleyan - Christenings, 1804-1837
- Georgetown, Bethel Baptist - Births, 1810 & 1821-1837
- Twyn-yr-odyn, Presbyterian or Unitarian - Christenings, 1804-1836
Description and Travel
Places, villages, farms etc within Merthyr Tydfil parish as shown on the online
parish map
from the CD of
Historic
Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before
1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by John Ball)
- Taf [70] - Aber-canaid, Aber-fan, Cefn-glas, Cnwc, Coal
Level, Craig-yr-Efail, Glamorganshire Canal, Hafod-tanglwys,
Nant-y-maen, Perth-y-gleision
- Gellideg [71] - Aber-canaid, Blaen-canaid,
Clwyd-y-fagwyn, Cwm Glo, Cwm Pits, Dynefor Arms Inn, Gelli-deg,
Glamorganshire Canal, Graig, Heolgerig, Iron & Steel Works,
Ochr-y-mynydd, Pleasant View, Rifle Range, Tai-mawr
- Garth [72] - Bryniau, Cyfarthfa Castle, Dowlais,
Garth, Goitre Pond, Gyrnos, Madoc's Castle, Merthyr Tydfil, Morlais
Castle, Pant Station, Pen-y-darren, Pwll Glas, Tower, Water Works
- Heol-wermood [73] - Cae-Harris, Clyn-mil, Cwm Bargoed
Station, Cwm Blacks, Dowlais, Dowlais Top Station, Ffos-y-fran, Iron
Works, Merthyr Common, Merthyr Tydfil, Mountain Hare, Pentre-bach,
Pen-y-darren Pits, Pen-y-garn-ddu, Pen-y-lan, Pitwell Pond,
Pont-ysgallog, Rifle Range, Trecatty, Twyn-y-Waun
- Cynon [74] - Begwns, Blackbrook, Cwm Bargoed, Cwm
Cothi, Dyffryn Colliery, Edwardsville, Fforest, Garth House, Merthyr
Vale, Mount Pleasant, Nant-y-fedw, Pen-y-graig, Tir-Cook, Troed-y-rhiw,
Ynys Owen
Descriptions of the parish from;
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1833) by Samuel Lewis
and
A Topographical Dictionary of The Dominion of Wales by Nicholas Carlisle, London, 1811
Merthyr Tydfil on the spartacus site
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council site
Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney - on Wikipedia
The People's Collection Wales site has much material for Merthyr Tydfil, use the onsite search box
A Photographic Tour of Old Merthyr - lots of photographs on Alan George's site
Alan George's site (places not shown elsewhere on these pages)
Directories
Transcript of name listing for Merthyr Tydfil, from Commercial and Trade Directories, for the years:-
Folklore
- Ancient Order of Druids: Merthyr district
1839-49: records
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff]
History
Description, with image, of Morlais Castle at www.castlewales.com by Jeff Thomas
Recollections of Merthyr Tydfil in 1877 by W Edwards - on the People's Collection Wales site (use search box)
A brief history of the Merthyr Tydfil uprising, 1831-1832 has been provided by Bob Sanders
Historical snippets re Merthyr Tydfil. Various contributors
The Merthyr Tydfil Turkish Baths
Election pamphlet for S O Davies in Merthyr Tyfil by-election in 1934 - on the People's Collection Wales site (use search box)
'A Sanitary Survey of Glamorganshire' by the County Medical Officer, William Williams, published in 1895. Extracts relating to MT by Brian Comley, 2000
Fox, Kenneth Owen. The Merthyr Election of 1906,
National Library of Wales journal. 1965, Winter Volume XIV/2.
Williams, Gwyn A. The Merthyr Riots: Settling the Account.
National Library of Wales journal. 1959, Winter Volume XI/2.
Land and Property
- Merthyr Tydfil tithes
1778-95: tithe account books
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/DE]
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Canal Navigation 1790-1869 "The series
consists of accounts, schedules of memorials of purchase of land, and
other papers associated with the Glamorganshire Canal,
1790-1869."
"The
Glamorgan Canal Act was granted Royal Assent in June 1790,
enabling the construction of a canal from Merthyr Tydfil to Cardiff.
Part of the Act specified that papers relating to the company should be
deposited with the Clerk of the Peace and kept with the County Quarter
Sessions records. The canal was opened in 1794, and traffic reached its
peak in 1851. After this time, competition from the railways led to its
gradual decline" - Finance Act 1910 domesday books "The Finance (1909/1910) Act (or Finance Act 1910) included provisions
for taxing any increase in the value of land, by undertaking a baseline
valuation of all land owned in England and Wales in 1909 against which
subsequent sale prices could be compared................and involved
the compilation of Field Books and maps listed all property; a 'Domesday' book
summarising this information, ............... listing all
holdings of a particular individual). The Welsh Region was divided into 11
districts, including the Abergavenny, Newport and Merthyr Tydfil Districts, which included Monmouthshire"
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Medical Records
The People's Collection Wales site has much material for Merthyr Tydfil, use the onsite search box
- Hillside Surgery
c1869-c1967: prescription and surgery books, accounts, papers etc
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff]
Merthyr Tydfil Boer War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Parish of Merthyr Tydfil - placenames on the 1841 census. Transcribed by Deric John
Politics and Government
- Merthyr Tydfil borough elections
20th cent: correspondents and papers of Dr AWL Seaman rel to biographies of MPs c1880-1914
[National Library of Wales, Department of Manuscripts and Records, Reference: Minor lists 1986]
- Merthyr Tydfil (Brecon Road) Liberal Association
1888-1919: correspondents
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff - Reference: D/DXes
The People's Collection Wales site has much material for Merthyr Tydfil, use the onsite search box
Local Collieries not shown elsewhere on this site;
Plymouth Ironworks on Alan George's site
1871 census - Pubs, Inns, etc, for Merthyr Upper and Lower with details of head of the establishment, location, head, age, occupation, birthplace. Compiled by Barrie Jones
The People's Collection Wales site has much material for Merthyr Tydfil, use the onsite search box
Merthyr Tydfil - on Peter Higginbotham's site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Merthyr Tydfil Poor Law Union, Workhouse/Public Assistance
Institutions and Cottage Homes records
1836-1970
Population
The Population of Merthyr Tydfil was as follows, and a more detailed breakdown is available.
| 1841 - 34,977 |
1851 - 46,378 |
1861 - 49,794 |
1871 - 51,949 |
1881 - 48,861 |
1891 - 58,080 |
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Merthyr Borough Petty Sessional Division records 1895-1964
- Merthyr Tydfil Borough Police records 1908-1971
- Merthyr Tydfil Borough Records 1852-1973
- Merthyr Tydfil Civil Parish records "
........ comprising valuation list, 1915; vestry minute books,
1799-1919; overseers minute book, 1904-1924"
- Merthyr Tydfil Local Board of Health 1850-1894
- Merthyr Tydfil Urban District Council records 1895-1903
- Merthyr Tydfil/Mid Glamorgan East coroner records 1959-1992
The People's Collection Wales site has much material for Merthyr Tydfil, use the onsite search box
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Merthyr Tydfil Division Elementary/Primary schools records
" ...... including log books
and admission registers relating to Abercanaid Board school, 1872-1926;
Aberfan school, 1888-1968; Abermorlais school, 1868-1970; Brecon Road
school, 1902-1959; Caedraw school, 1875-1957; Clwydyfagwyr board,
1896-1943; Cyfarthfa school, 1971-1989; Dowlais British/Central school,
1873-1949; Gellifaelog school, 1888-1984; Georgetown schools,
1874-1969; Heolgerrig school, 1877-1928; Merthyr Vale Board school,
1879-1968; Mount Pleasant school, 1912-1952; Pant school, 1882-1962;
Pantglas school, 1902-1966; Pengarnddu school, 1865-1958; Petrebach
school, 1865-1942; Queen's Road school, 1873-1968; St. Cynon's National
school, 1876-1915; Sandbrook House Rheumatic Hospital school,
1937-1959; Treharris school, 1881-1958; Troedyrhiw school, 1876-1966;
Twynyrodyn school, 1875-1901; Woodlands school, 1905-1936; Ynysowen
school, 1968-1990"
- Merthyr Tydfil Intermediate/County Secondary school records 1890-1914
- Merthyr Tydfil School Board and Education Committee Schools records 1863-1931
- Merthyr Tydfil School Board records 1871-1907
Social Life and Customs
The People's Collection Wales site has much material for Merthyr Tydfil, use the onsite search box
- Ancient Order of Druids: Merthyr district
1839-49: records
[Glamorgan Record Office, Cardiff]
Town Records
- Merthyr Tydfil Turnpike Trust
1829-1841: records
[Glamorgan Archive Service, Cardiff]
Hamlets, Towns and Villages
Merthyr Tydfil
[Last updated: 5 March 2013 - Gareth Hicks]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.