We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"NEWCASTLE, in the Cwmwd of Tir yr Hwndrwd, Cantref of Cron Nedd (now called the Hundred of Newcastle), County of GLAMORGAN, South Wales: a discharged Vicarage, with the Curacies of Lalyston and Tythegston, valued in the King's Books at £7..7..3 1/2: Patron, The King: Church dedicated to St. Illtyd. The Resident Population of this Parish, in 1801, (consisting of the Higher and Lower Hamlets) was 611.The Money raised by the Parish Rates, in 1803, was, £249..18..7 1/4. It is adjacent to Bridgend, on the West. This Parish contains about 900 acres of Land; of which, about 80 acres are uninclosed. It appears to derive its name, in opposition to Old Castle in the Lower Hamlet of the Parish of Coyty, and from which it is divided by the River Ogwr. "
From: A Topographical Dictionary of The Dominion of Wales by Nicholas Carlisle, London, 1811.


Archives and Libraries

Bridgend County Borough Council/ Library Service / Local and Family History Centre - one of six centres in Britain that hold the GRO indexes. They have started to index births, mariages & deaths  from the Glamorgan Gazette and these indexes (1866 -) are available for downloading online in pdf format.


Here is a substantial reading list of books which relate to Glamorgan, either county or parish.

An on-line index to the book Old Bridgend in Photographs, published by Stewart Williams, Barry [1978] has been provided by Huw Daniel.


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newcastle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Chapels Database  - a  list of all known non-conformist chapels or other non-Anglican religions in the parish

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Illtud's Church, Newcastle

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Illtud's Church

Church Records

For full and up-to-date details of their holdings see the sites of Glamorgan Record Office and/or West Glamorgan Archives

See Bap/Mar/Bur data on  FreeReg

The church is dedicated to St. Illtyd, and is in the Benefice of Newcastle. Details of the present incumbent of this benefice can be found at the Church in Wales website. The church can be located at grid reference SS903801.

Anglican Parish Registers Held at the Glamorgan Record Office, Cardiff
Baptisms Marriages Burials Banns Bishops Transcripts
1745-1943 1755-1900 1764-1897 1823-1881 1721, 1723-1763, 1765-1824, 1826-1837

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newcastle Ecclesiastical Parish records              " ........ including copied parish registers of baptisms, 1745-1943; marriage, 1755-1900; burials, 1764-1897; banns, 1755-1881"

Modern Parishes & Chapels of Ease :-

The following Religious Institutions are covered in the Mormon International Genealogical Index (IGI) :-

  • Newcastle, St. Illtyd - Christenings (BT's), 1813-1876
  • Newcastle, Bridgend, Ruhamah Particular Baptist - Births, 1799-1837

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Newcastle which are provided by:

Places, villages, farms etc within Newcastle as shown on the online parish map from the CD of  Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Gareth Hicks)

  • Newcastle Higher (93); Aberkenfig (village); Angletown; Brookland; Court Colman; Croes-caedu; Fountain; GWR; Mental Hospital; Nant y Gedd; Pant; Park Fm.; Park Slip Colliery; Pen-y-fai; Pen-y-fai Common; Tondu (village); Ty-cribwr; Ty mawr; Ty'n-y-garn.
  • Newcastle Lower (94); Bryntirion; Castle; Cefn Glas; Cefn Glas Ho.; Mill; Newcastle (village); Ogmore (Ogwr) Valley;  Park Fm.; Pwll Clement; Ystrad Fawr.

Description of parish from A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1833) by Samuel Lewis

Newcastle Hill and St Illtyd's Church by Brian Wagstaffe


Transcript of name listing for Bridgend, and district, for the years:-

1858-9 (Slaters Directory)   1880 (Slaters Directory) (65k)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Newcastle has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Some of the hamlets, towns and villages within this parish


Description and image of Newcastle Castle at www.castlewales.com by Jeff Thomas


This diagram shows the position of this parish within the county of Glamorgan - click on this to see a full size diagram of the county

Glamorgan Parish Map

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS903790 (Lat/Lon: 51.499213, -3.581815), Newcastle which are provided by:


The Population of Newcastle was as follows, and a more detailed breakdown is available.

1841 - 1,239 1851 - 1,536 1861 - 2,244 1871 - 3,450 1881 - 4,496 1891 - 5,001

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newcastle and Ogmore Petty Sessional Division records           "Minutes books, 1836-1859; court registers, 1832-1921; court registers (Bridgend), 1921-1970; court registers (Maesteg), 1921-1970; juvenile court registers, 1933-1983; justices oath book (Newcastle division), 1901-1910; register of warrants, 1919-1921; register of process, 1924-1948; register of victualling houses, 1866-1867; register of licences, 1872-1883; list of habitual drunkards, 1903-1912; examination of paupers (settlement), 1829-1843; certificates of conviction, 1880; court registers (Bridgend and Maesteg), 1970-1983; registers of licences, 1959-1962; magistates year book, 1986; matrimonial court register, 1969-1970; court register for non-payment of fines, 1936-1950"  
  • Newcastle Civil Parish records     " ............. including vestry minutes book, 1848-1904; churchwardens' accounts, 1895-1896; Newcastle Higher highways surveyor's account book, 1768-1855; Newcastle Higher overseers of the poor rate book, 1839; Newcastle Higher parish council minutes books, 1895-1959; parochial committee minutes books, 1915-1937; sub-committee minutes books, 1911-1927; annual parish meeting minutes book, 1894-1934; miscellaneous plans, c1919; copy of tithe plan and apportionment, c1840 [copied 1980]"


Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newcastle Higher School Board records      " ......... comprising minute book, 1898-1903; cash book, 1899-1903"