We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Mumbles in the Parish of Oystermouth

Bibliography
Church History
Church Records
Description and Travel
Directories
History
Merchant Marine

Bibliography

On-line indexes to these books by Carol Powell have been provided by Diana Davies.

An on-line index to the book The Men of the Mumbles Head - The story of the Mumbles Lifeboat from 1832, written by Carl Smith [1977] has been compiled by Roger McFenton

An on-line index to the book The story of the village of Mumbles written by Gerald Gabb M.A. [1986] has been compiled by Diana Davies

An on-line index to the book Of Swansea West : Mumbles Past and Present by Norman L. Thomas [1978] has been provided by Eluned Lloyd

Church History

Mumbles Methodist Church

Church Records

For full and up-to-date details of their holdings see the sites of Glamorgan Record Office and/or West Glamorgan Archives

Non Conformist Registers Held at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth
Chapel Baptisms Marriages Burials OS Map Ref
Victoria Church, Wesleyan - - 1898-1923 SS 61608811

Description and Travel

Mumbles Webcam

Mumbles - on Wikipedia

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • [Swansea and] Mumbles Railway    1804-1959            "The Swansea and Mumbles railway ran from Swansea to Mumbles. In 1804 the Oystermouth Railway and Tramroad Company was incorporated and work began on building the line. In 1806 goods traffic began to pass over the line in waggons pulled by horses. The main cargo was limestone at this stage. However, as Mumbles began to lose its industrial character and started to develop as a tourist resort, freight lessened and in 1807 the line became unique as providing the first regular rail passenger service in the world..........................."     

Directories

Transcript of complete name listing for the Gower parishes, from Slaters Directory for 1880.

History

The People's Collection Wales site has material for this parish, use the onsite search box

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • War Dept, Mumbles land               "The Duke of Beaufort leased the outer island at Mumbles Head, Glamorgan, to the War Department during the late 19th century. A blockhouse was built near the Mumbles lighthouse in 1860 as a defence against possible invasion from France. Samuel Howlett (1794-1874), military surveyor and inventor produced a report on the defences in 1863."

Merchant Marine

Mumbles Lighthouse on the Explore-Gower site   -  and on the Trinity House site

 

Mumbles in the Parish of Oystermouth [Last Updated :  3 Dec 2013 - Gareth Hicks]