Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llangar

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llangar

"LLANGAR, a parish in the hundred of Edernion, county Merioneth, 1 mile S.W. of Corwen, its post town, and 10 miles N.E. of Bala. It is situated at the confluence of the rivers Alwen and Dee, and includes the hamlets of Bryn, Cymmer, and Gwynodl. A large portion of the parish is barren. The village, which is small, stands on the road from Corwen, by the Vale of Edeyrnion. The Dee is crossed by a bridge about a mile distant at Cynwydd. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of St. Asaph, value £160, in the patronage of the bishop. The church is a small structure. This parish enjoys a share of the charities with Corwen. There are traces of an entrenchment." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]

Bibliography

Yates, W Nigel. Rug Chapel, Llangar Church, Gwydir Uchaf Chapel. Cardiff : Cadw: Welsh Historic Monuments, 1993. 48p

Census

The 1851 Census of Llangar as enumerated - transcription provided by John and Doreen Jones. (See also Gwyddelwern)

The 1871 Census of Llangar as enumerated - transcription provided by John and Doreen Jones.

The 1891 Census of Llangar as enumerated - transcription provided by John and Doreen Jones.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llangar area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

This church was in Merioneth until 1974, then Clwyd until 1996, now in Denbighshire.

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re All Saints' Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 3578 acres; Population 128 males, 123 females, total 251

  • Llangar Parish Church     Attendance - morning 40      "There is no afternoon service at Llangar during the winter months, on account of the state of the roads and the distance most part of the congregation reside from the Church; and during the Summer months the number of the afternoon congregation is very variable and so much depends on the state of the weather. There is no hamlet or village or Public House or Chapel of any denomination in the parish"      Services in Welsh           John Dawson, Minister

' About Llangar Parish' by Tony Francis on the Welsh Family History Archive site. Includes a database of Bishops' Transcripts for the parish.

Clwyd FHS site - Llangar Church

Aerial photograph of All Saints Church and churchyard, Llangar, 1995 - on the People's Collection Wales site (Shown as in Llangar parish although Kain/Oliver shows it is in a detached part of Gwyddelwern parish)

Church Records

Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at Merioneth Record Office.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • All Saints Church Graveyard Survey   "Survey of graves in All Saint's Churchyard, Llangar, carried out for Department of the Environment by Ron Shoesmith of Hereford Archaeological Unit, 1974. Revised in 1977."

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llangar which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangar has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangar to another place.

History

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Irvine, William Ferguson, collection of Llangar and Edeirnion papers "Papers collected by William Ferguson Irvine, 1615-1946, comprising maps of Rûg Demesne and adjoining farms, [1788]-1792; guide books, 1902 and [20th century]; newspaper articles, 1942-1946; photographs, 1937; notes and notebook, 1814-1864; correspondence, 1932-1936; extracts [?], 1665-1666, 1857; Llangar churchwardens' accounts and parish registers, 1615-1806; notes on the Barons of Edeirnion, 1719-1889; Baget Documents report, 1943; and draft articles, 1729-1730."

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Cae-Mab-Seifion of Llanelltyd and Cefn Cymer of Llangar Collection  "Deeds from ..........Cefn Cymer of Llangar and allied lands in Gwyddelwern and Llangar 1665-1734.............."

Maps

Gwynedd Family History Society  havea diagram of the ecclesiastical parishes of Merionethshire (under Parishes)  - with some links to photographs of parish churches

 


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ063423 (Lat/Lon: 52.969824, -3.396717), Llangar which are provided by: