We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • Deanery of Cedewain; Aberhafesp     Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 34  1907   Welsh Journals Online

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Aberhafesp St Gwynog Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 4568 acres; Population 280 males, 279 females, total 559

  • Aberhafesp Parish Church           Attendance - morning 54 + 22 scholars, afternoon 12 + 23 scholars    Services in English        "The Church is situated at a distance from the bulk of the population...."  R J Davies, Rector
  • Rhydfellen Chapel, Baptist             Erected before 1800              Attendance - morning 30 scholars, afternoon 90, evening 20                  Jacob Nicholas, Paster, Baptist Minister, Caersws
  • Bwlchyffrydd, Congregationalists    Erected 1800, enlarged 1810, rebuilt 1848     Attendance - morning 120, afternoon 91 scholars, evening 190       John Owen, Minister, Crescent Place, Newtown
  • Bethel, Independents              Erected 1851             Attendance - morning 38, afternoon 27 scholars                 John Owen, Minister, Bwlchffrydd

Church of St Gwynnog, Aberhafesp on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Salon Exhibit of St Gwynnog's Church, Aberhafesp - on the E-Museum of Pyrographic Art site    "These amazing panels--mounted in a screen that covers most of the west wall--were dedicated to the church in 1893 by E. B. Proctor, the main benefactor, who resided at Aberhafesp Hall and owned much of the surrounding land and buildings......."

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Bwlchyffridd  section (in Welsh) has been extracted  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1578-1601, 1623-5, 1630-51, 1721-4, 1726-1993; Marriages 1579-1602, 1623-4, 1628, 1633-42, 1644, 1648, 1721-4, 1726-1970; Burials 1578-82, 1584-7, 1590, 1603, 1619, 1623-6, 1640-6, 1721-4, 1726-1993; Banns 1823-1878,1894-1991
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbigh Archives and/or Flintshire Archives  

St Asaph Notitiae;  Aberhafesp parish, Deanery of Cedewain - on the NLW site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Hamer Papers (Papers donated by Miss Hamer, Newtown)    Include  "............ transcripts, [20th century], from Aberhafesb registers of baptisms and burials (1757-1901).........."

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aberhafesb which are provided by:


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aberhafesb has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses



You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO069924 (Lat/Lon: 52.521471, -3.373608), Aberhafesb which are provided by: