GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

ABERHAFESB

Bibliography

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Aberhafesp St Gwynog Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 4568 acres; Population 280 males, 279 females, total 559

Church of St Gwynnog, Aberhafesp on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Salon Exhibit of St Gwynnog's Church, Aberhafesp - on the E-Museum of Pyrographic Art site    "These amazing panels--mounted in a screen that covers most of the west wall--were dedicated to the church in 1893 by E. B. Proctor, the main benefactor, who resided at Aberhafesp Hall and owned much of the surrounding land and buildings......."

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Bwlchyffridd  section (in Welsh) has been extracted  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

St Asaph Notitiae;  Aberhafesp parish, Deanery of Cedewain - on the NLW site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

 

Return to top

Aberhafesb


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 4 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.