GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

ABERRHIW / BERRIEW

Bibliography

Brown, Roger L. Mr Martin's retirement : an episode in the history of the church in Berriew. Montgomeryshire Collections 85 (1997), p. 105-10

Edwards, William R. The family of William Edwards (1772-1830) of Welshpool & Berriew, Montgomeryshire. Guilsfield : Wm. R. Edwards, 1988.

Evans, Geraint G. The place-names of Berriew. Montgomeryshire Collections 83 (1995), p. 1-40

Gibson, Alex. The Carreg Beuno prehistoric landscape, Berriew. Montgomeryshire Collections 83 (1995), p. 41-58 Parish of Berriew : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Geneaological Society, 2003. 120p

Parish of Berriew : Parish Church of St. Beuno, Ebenezer Congregational Chapel ... : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 122p

Silvester, R J. Luggy Moat, Berriew : recording and conservation. Montgomeryshire Collections 85 (1997), p. 1-12

Smith, D W. Aberriw to Berriew : the story of a community. [Aberriw] : D.W. Smith, 1992. 17p

Smith, Douglas W. Berriew and Trinity : Thomas Jones (1756-1807) and his contemporaries. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 79 (1991), p. 121-34

Smith, Douglas W. The Berriew enclosures : Brithdir and the intercommoning districts. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 77 (1989), p. 81-105

Smith, Douglas W. Owen Owens of Berriew. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 121-3

Smith, Douglas W. Berriew in Stuart times : 2. Paupers and yeomen, poverty and prosperity. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 8-29

Smith, Douglas W. Berriew maps : some comments. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 162-3

Stormont, C A. A Berriew letter writer of the 1830s. Cronicl Powys. No. 24 (1991), p. 34-38

Stormont, C A. Berriew letter writer of the 1830s : a sequel to an article in Cronicl, no. 24. Cronicl Powys. No. 27 (1992), p. 8-14

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Berriew parish 1841-1901

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of St Beuno Church, Berriew

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Beuno's Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 12010 acres; Population 1125 males, 1052 females, total 2177

BERRIEW, St. Beuno  1874-1876   - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Beuno, Berriew on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Berriew, Pentre Llifior

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Ebenezer, built c 1829

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Berriew chapel (in Welsh )   - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Description and Travel

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Rhiewport Mansion near Berriew, 1864 - on the People's Collection Wales site    ".............. Rhiewport was owned by the Wythen-Jones family for many years."

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Berriew in 1840, and 1901

Occupations

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Aberrhiw / Berriew


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.