GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

TAL-Y-BONT / BUTTINGTON

Census

Shropshire/Montgomeryshire border private census.   "A researcher of families from the Shropshire-Montgomeryshire border recently acquired a private census collated by an owner of land in Alberbury, Cardeston, Wollaston & Buttington, straddling the counties of Shropshire and Montgomeryshire.Unlike the civil census, this private census does not give details that are particularly useful to genealogists. Instead it gives details that will be of interest to family historians, that is, details of people's character, employment, financial status and living conditions; details which on the whole are completely lost."

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Buttington parish consisting of Cletterwood Township; Hope Township; and Trewern Township; statistics; Area 5099 acres; Population 427 males, 389 females, total 816

BUTTINGTON, All Saints   1837-1839       - on the Church plans online site

Church of All Saints, Buttington on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Buttington, Cefn

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Buttington Medieval Mill - on the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust site

Gazetteers

History

Text on the War Memorial at Buttington Parish Church.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Schools

Powys - A Day in the Life - Buttington School

 

Return to top

Tal-y-bont / Buttington


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[5 Dec 2012 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI