We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Carno

"CARNO, a parish in the lower division of the hundred of LLANIDLOES, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 11 miles (W. N. W.) from Newtown, containing 1010 inhabitants.  ... The village is situated on the road from Newtown to Machynlleth :  ... The church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, is an unadorned stone edifice, rebuilt in 1807: it formerly belonged to the knights of St. John of Jerusalem, who are said to have had a house near it. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists.  ... " [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]

Bibliography

Carno in camera : [a collection of photographs to celebrate the Millennium]. Carno] : Carno Recreation Association, 2000. 44p

Dathliad Canmlwyddiant Eglwys y Creigfryn, Carno : 1811 hyd 1911. Bala : Argraffwyd gan H. Evans, [1912?] 41p

Davies, Mrs Andrew (Ty Mawr)       The History of the parish of Carno      Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Davies, Evan. Cofiant y Parchedig Joseph Thomas, Carno. Dolgellau : Argraffwyd gan E.W. Evans, 1911. 340p Parish of Carno: Parish Church of St.John the Baptist, Creigfryn Independent Chapel, Cwm Llwyd Baptist Chapel, Peniel Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Rhyd Congregational Chapel, Soar Independent Chapel: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , c2000 . 130p

Richards, Thomas. Hanes dechreuad a chynydd yr ysgol Sabbothol yn mhlwyf Carno, Maldwyn : traethawd gwobrwyedig yn Nghylchwyl Lenyddol Carno, Nadolig 1869. Drefnewydd [Newtown] : Cyhoeddedig gan bwyllgor y Chyfarfod Llenyddol; argraffwyd gan H. Parry, [1870?] 20p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Carno parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 10982 acres; Population 456 males, 452 females, total 908

  • Carno Parish Church              Attendance - usual - morning 50                     Services in Welsh                  Joseph Hughes, Curate
  • Llwynhen Chapel, Wesleyan Methodists             Erected 1820            Attendance - morning 36 + 6 scholars, afternoon school, evening 39                Evan Richards, Wesleyan Minister, Llanidloes
  • Peniel Chapel, Llysin Township, Calvinistic Methodists          Erected 1811, rebuilt 1842       Attendance - morning 64 scholars, afternoon 133, evening 91      "There are two small branches of Sunday school belonging to Peniel Chapel assembled in dwelling  houses called Hen Shop containing about 30 and Carniog containing about 29 both in Parish of Carno, Township of Trawsgoed"     Edward Owen, Deacon, Penybont
  • Cwmllwyd Baptist Chapel       Erected before 1820           Attendance -  usual - morning 50, evening 15             Informant; John Thomas, Craigfryn
  • Craigfryn Chapel, Independent      Erected 1810            Attendance - usual - morning 40 scholars, afternoon 200, evening 50                     Informant; John Thomas

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re

  • St John's Church
  •  Peniel CM Chapel

St. John the Baptist church and cemetery, Carno - on the People's Collection Wales site

Church of St John the Baptist, Carno on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Creigfryn, and Soar

Church/chapel photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • House and chapel, Carno 
  • The Congregational chapel and a house, Carno, with two men standing outside 
  • Wesleyan Sunday school, Carno c 1885
  • St John's chapel (W), Carno 
  • CARNO WELSH CALVINISTIC METHODIST CHAPEL (PENIEL), A470, CARNO

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Penuel

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Carno  section (in Welsh) has been extracted  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1638-47, 1661-87, 1699-1716, 1718-1724, 1736-1809; Marriages 1638-47, 1661-86, 1699-1724, 1736-1837; Burials 1638-47, 1661-86, 1699-1724, 1736-1809, 1813-1916; Banns 1823-1975
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW

Description and Travel

Stone Wrist Guard - on the People's Collection Wales site

Carno Dwyrhiw: Garreg-hir above Carno - on the RCAHM site

You can see pictures of Carno which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Carno has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Carno to another place.

Language and Languages

The Welsh dialect of Carno, Montgomeryshire (audio) - on the People's Collection Wales site

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Carno Parish Council records  1927-1972

Schools

School related photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Group portrait of girls and teacher [Carno school] 
  • Group portrait of boys and teachers [Carno school]
  • Girls at Carno school, 1890 
  • Boys, Y Fan mine school, Carno
  • Girls, Y Fan mine school, Carno (1890)
  • Boys, Carno school (1890)

Social life and Customs

Various group photographs  - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Members of Carno Women's Institute at Plas Llysyn, Carno [1909?]
  • A group of men, a boy, and women, one of whom is holding a baby, standing in front of a draper and grocer's shop [Lloyd's Stores, Carno] 
  • Numerous individuals, donkeys, a horse and carts outside a building [Mill, Carno] 
  • Mr John Ashton and his family and workers, Carno [outside shop]