GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

CARNO

Bibliography

Carno in camera : [a collection of photographs to celebrate the Millennium]. Carno] : Carno Recreation Association, 2000. 44p

Dathliad Canmlwyddiant Eglwys y Creigfryn, Carno : 1811 hyd 1911. Bala : Argraffwyd gan H. Evans, [1912?] 41p

Davies, Mrs Andrew (Ty Mawr)       The History of the parish of Carno      Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Davies, Evan. Cofiant y Parchedig Joseph Thomas, Carno. Dolgellau : Argraffwyd gan E.W. Evans, 1911. 340p Parish of Carno: Parish Church of St.John the Baptist, Creigfryn Independent Chapel, Cwm Llwyd Baptist Chapel, Peniel Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Rhyd Congregational Chapel, Soar Independent Chapel: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , c2000 . 130p

Richards, Thomas. Hanes dechreuad a chynydd yr ysgol Sabbothol yn mhlwyf Carno, Maldwyn : traethawd gwobrwyedig yn Nghylchwyl Lenyddol Carno, Nadolig 1869. Drefnewydd [Newtown] : Cyhoeddedig gan bwyllgor y Chyfarfod Llenyddol; argraffwyd gan H. Parry, [1870?] 20p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Carno parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 10982 acres; Population 456 males, 452 females, total 908

CARNO, St. John the Baptist   1864-1867  - on the Church plans online site

Church of St John the Baptist, Carno on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Creigfryn, and Soar

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Penuel

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Carno  section (in Welsh) has been extracted  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Stone Wrist Guard - on the People's Collection Wales site

Carno Dwyrhiw: Garreg-hir above Carno - on the RCAHM site

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Carno


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[3 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.