We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Ceri / Kerry


Bannister, Geoffrey F. Lament for the country railway : 2. Return to Kerry. Back Track 1 (1987), p. 7-8

Cozens, Lewis. The Mawddwy, Van and Kerry Railways with the Hendre-Ddu and Kerry Tramways.

Jerman, Herbert N. Kerry the church and the village : a guide. [Kerry, Montgomeryshire] : [The author], [1976]

Jerman, H Noel    From moss to macadam; a study of the inter-relation of roads and human society in the Kerry region     Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 43  1934   Welsh Journals Online  

Kerry Parochial Registers,  vols 1/2/3/4     Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 39  1920   Welsh Journals Online  

Morris, C G. A Morris family, Kerry. Cronicl Powys. No. 20 (1989), p. 41-53

Morris, Philippa. Morris, Davies and Jones in Kerry, Montgomery and Llandyssul. Cronicl Powys. No. 20 (1989), p. 53-61

Torrens, Hugh. 'Mineral engineer' John Williams of Kerry (1732-95) : his work in Britain and his mineral surveys in the Veneto and North Italy. Montgomeryshire Collections 84 (1996), p. 67-102

Willans, J B      Some former Kerry landowners            Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 21430 acres; Population 992 males, 938 females, total 1930

  • Kerry Parish Church            Attendance - usual - 450      Services in English       Informant; Robert Pryce, Parish Clerk
  • Sarn, Baptist                 Erected 1827               Attendance - morning 125 + 25 scholars, afternoon 27 scholars, evening 84                  John Jones, Minister
  • Union, Baptist            Erected 1824            Attendance - morning 34, evening 84                 Richard Owen, Minister, Upper Green, Newtown
  • Bethany, Independent            Erected 1840          Attendance - afternoon 48             Thomas Davies, Independent Minister, The Crescent, Newtown
  • Dolvor, Calvinistic Methodists            Dwelling house               Attendance - morning 18             John Herbert, Minister

KERRY, St. Michael & All Angels  1881-1884  - on the Church plans online site KERRY, Holy Trinity, Sarn  1857-1859  -o n the Church plans online site

Church of St Michael and All Angels, Kerry on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Kerry

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Ceri chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1602-6, 1609-1993; Marriages 1602-6, 1609-1993; Burials 1602-6, 1609-1860; Banns 1823-1973
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW

Sarn - a parish formed out of Ceri and Churchstoke

  • Baptisms 1860-; Marriages 1861- ; Burials 1860- ;   all with incumbent

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ceri / Kerry which are provided by:

Kerry Motte - on Castle Wales site



Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Poundley and Griffiths families, papers  1854-1966      "The Poundley family came from The Black Hole, Pentregate and later Springfields, parish of Kerry, Montgomeryshire. The Griffiths family came from Trennydd, parish of Newport, Pembrokeshire, also The Moat, parish of Kerry, and Pigeonsford, Llangrannog, Cardiganshire"

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ceri / Kerry has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Black Hall Estate (Montgomeryshire) Records [Kerry]   1587-1847     
  • H. Noel Jerman Papers  " ........... including deeds and documents relating to properties in Kerry, Montgomeryshire, 1679-1885, and Kerry School, 1843-1873, and copies of local newspapers, 1834-1868; records relating to the Dolforgan estate, including deeds and documents relating to properties in Montgomeryshire, Carmarthenshire and Merionethshire, 1807-1910........."
  •  Kerry, Llanerfyl, Llanfair Caereinion and Mochdre, deeds  1617-1901    "The properties Neuadd Maes yr Hendre and Cwm yr Eneth were in the parishes of Mochdre and Kerry, Montgomeryshire........."


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO147900 (Lat/Lon: 52.501178, -3.258062), Ceri / Kerry which are provided by:

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Kerry in 1903, and 1842