GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

DAROWEN

Bibliography

Parish of Darowen: Beerseba C.M. Chapel, Melinbyrhedyn,Ty Cerrig W.M. Chapel, Commins Coch, Darowen Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Nebo Ind. Chapel, Cemmaes Road, Bethesda Chapel, Penegoes, Saron W.M. Chapel, Abercegir, Seion Baptist Chapel, Talywern: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001. 64p

Parish of Darowen : Parish Church of St.Tudyr : memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001. 60p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Darowen parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Darowen parish consisting of the townships of Caerseddfan and Noddfa; statistics; Area 10000 acres; Population 581 males, 538 females, total 1119

DAROWEN, St. Tudyr   1862-1864     - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Tudur, Darowen on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site
1. Darowen, Tycerrig in Commins Coch but on the south side of the River Twymyn and so in the parish of Darowen.
2.  Darowen, Abercegir towards the south side of the parish

Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Talywern

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Darowen village, and Melinbarhedyn

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Nebo, Cemmaes Road chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Cyfeiliog and Mawddwy, Darowen parish 1681/1686 - on the NLW site

Emigration and Immigration

Venedocia, Ohio  - "The original settlers of Venedocia Ohio came from farms near the towns of Llanbrynmair, Trefeglwys, and Darowen"

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

Powys Digital History Project site - Darowen National School

 

Return to top

Darowen


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 July 2012 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.