Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dolfor

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dolfor

Bibliography

A collection of Dolfor memories. [Newtown]: Dolfor Millennium Committee, [2002]. 56p

Parish of Dolfor : Parish Church of St. Paul, Dolfor Free Church, Penybryn Wesleyan Methodist Chapel : memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 50p

Williams, Jack. The prisoner of war camp on Dolfor Road. The Newtonian, 7 (Winter 2001), 6-9

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dolfor area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

  • Not shown as a separate parish - see Ceri

 Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Dolfor, Penybryn

Church Records

A parish formed out of Ceri/Kerry in 1851

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1852-1991; Marriages 1867-1968; Burials 1853-1993
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts - none detailed for this separate parish

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Dolfor which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dolfor has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dolfor to another place.

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

 

 


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO106872 (Lat/Lon: 52.475355, -3.317693), Dolfor which are provided by: