GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

DYLIFE

Bibliography

Bick, David. Dylife: a Famous Lead Mine. Newent: The Pound House, 1985

Brown, Michael. Dylife: the industrial and social history of a famous Welsh lead mine. ISBN 086243775X

Jones, Cyril. Calon blwm : portread o ardal Dylife ym Maldwyn. Llandysul : Gomer, 1994. Adolygiad/au: Mari Ellis, Taliesin, 90 (1995), 118-19. Adolygiad/au: Dafydd Roberts, Llais Llyfrau, 2 (1995), 11-12. Adolygiad/au: Robin Williams, Llafar Gwlad, 48 (1995), 23.

Parish of Llanbrynmair: Parish Church of St Mary, Llan Aber Independent Chapel, Capel Bethel (C.M.), Bontdolgadfan Parish Church of St David, Dylife, Tafolwern Independent Chapel, Gwynfryn (C.M.) Chapel, Dylife, Soar Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Talerddig Independent Chapel, Llan village inscription, Llanbrynmair war memorial, Seion (Zion) Welsh Baptist Chapel, Dylife: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001. 140p

Peate, David. Genealogical alphabet : lead miners of Dylife. Record: Journal of the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society. 18 (2000), p. 22-23

Perrott, David. Walks in the Dyfi valley : including Aberdyfi, Machynlleth, Dylife, Cemmaes and Borth. Machynlleth : Kittiwake, 2000. 32p

Williams, C J. Cobden and Bright and the Dylife lead mines. Welsh History Review, 21 (June 2002), 118-148

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

DYLIFE, St. David  1908       - on the Church plans online site

The Dyfi Valley Churches and Chapels online (no longer) database  showed the church of St David's as a ruin; also had brief details of these nonconformist chapels;

Some grant applications for repairs to St David's, Dylife detailed on the Incorporated Church Building Society site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Soar chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation

Church Records

A parish formed out of Llanbryn-mair, Darowen, Penegoes & Trefeglwys in 1856

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Photograph gallery showing Dylife scenes   and   some more here

Dylife Gorge - on the Beige.org site

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Occupations

Victorian Powys for schools site -  Dylife Lead Mine

Dylife Mines - on the Mindat.org site

Dylife Mine - on the CPAT site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Dylife


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[3 April 2013 -  Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI