We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Ffordun / Forden


Blockley, Kevin. Excavations in the vicinity of Forden Gaer Roman fort, Powys, 1987. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 17-46 Parish of Forden: Parish Church of St.Michael, Ebenezer Conregational Chapel, Forden Union Workhouse: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 106p

Morris, J Griffith and Mary Newill Owen          Forden Union during the Napoleonic Wars 1795-1816; being extracts from the minute books of Forden Union          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 37  1915   Welsh Journals Online     


Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Forden parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Ebenezer Ind Chapel, Forden

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 5270 acres; Population 485 males, 395 females, total 880

  • Forden Parish Church      Attendance - morning 153 + 64 scholars, afternoon 42 + 61 scholars                W Jones Thomas, Curate
  • Chapel of the House of Industry of the Montgomery and Pool Union             Attendance - morning 32 + 12 scholars       "The number of Inmates is few at present and many sick or infirm"      Edwd. D Green Chaplain
  • Independent        Chapel and house        Erected 1826                   Attendance - afternoon 35, evening 46                James Hamer, Deacon
  • Wesleyan Methodists           Not used exclusively as a place of worship           Attendance - morning 23          "The schedule is for two houses, in which the same Congregation worships alternately morning and evening, and occasionally in the afternoon"    Edward Watson, Wesleyan Minister, Welshpool

FORDEN, St. Michael & All Angels 1828-1830    - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Michael, Forden on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas   Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Forden chapel (in Welsh )  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1598-1748, 1751-1807, 1813-1878; Marriages 1598-1748, 1751-1980; Burials 1598-1748, 1751-1807, 1813-1920.
    House of Industry-  Baptisms 1795-1863; Burials 1795-1864
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the Herefordshire Archives

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ffordun / Forden which are provided by:


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ffordun / Forden has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Bartlett, E. W. S., deeds  "Deeds relating to property in Forden, Leighton and Trelystan, Montgomeryshire, 1931-1932"


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ227010 (Lat/Lon: 52.601243, -3.142800), Ffordun / Forden which are provided by:

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Victorian Powys for schools site - The Workhouse at Forden

Forden Workhouse - on the People's Collection Wales site

Montgomery and Pool (Forden from 1870) Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Forden Poor Law Union records  1870-1930

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Forden Rural District Council, records  1954-1974  
  • Montgomeryshire Highway Boards, records.       Including "Records of Pool and Forden Highway Board, 1874-1895......."