GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

FFORDUN / FORDEN

Bibliography

Blockley, Kevin. Excavations in the vicinity of Forden Gaer Roman fort, Powys, 1987. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 17-46 Parish of Forden: Parish Church of St.Michael, Ebenezer Conregational Chapel, Forden Union Workhouse: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 106p

Morris, J Griffith and Mary Newill Owen          Forden Union during the Napoleonic Wars 1795-1816; being extracts from the minute books of Forden Union          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 37  1915   Welsh Journals Online     

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Forden parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Ebenezer Ind Chapel, Forden

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 5270 acres; Population 485 males, 395 females, total 880

FORDEN, St. Michael & All Angels 1828-1830    - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Michael, Forden on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas   Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Forden chapel (in Welsh )  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Victorian Powys for schools site - The Workhouse at Forden

Forden Workhouse - on the People's Collection Wales site

Montgomery and Pool (Forden from 1870) Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Ffordun / Forden


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[ 4 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.