Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Garthbeibio

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Garthbeibio

Bibliography

Deanery of Careinion; Garthbeibio  Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 34  1907   Welsh Journals Online

Edwards, Griffith. The works of the Rev. Griffith Edwards (Gutyn Padarn), M.A., F.R.H.S., late Vicar of Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire : parochial histories of Llangadfan, Garthbeibio, and Llanerfyl, Montgomeryshire, together with Welsh and English poetry. London : Elliot Stock, 1895. 296p

Jones, Francis. Plwyf Garthbeibio a'i hynafiaethau. Dolgellau : Richard Hughes, [186?] 20p

Wheeler, R E M        A tumulus at Gartheibio          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 7200 acres; Population 169 males, 186 females, total 355

  • Garthbeibio Parish Church                Attendance - morning 50, evening 120           Services in Welsh       William Evan Jones, Rector
  •  
  • Beersheba, Independent             Erected 1843          Attendance - evening 60             Evan Roberts, Minister, Voel

Church of St Tydecho, Garthbeibio on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Garthbeibio, disused chapel near the Wern.

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1710-1925; Marriages 1722-95, 1837-1917, 1919-1941; Burials 1710-1903
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives 

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Garthbeibio which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Garthbeibio has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

 


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH985118 (Lat/Lon: 52.694314, -3.503328), Garthbeibio which are provided by: