Nearby places
CEGIDFA / GUILSFIELD
Barton, P G. Sir Rowland Hayward and the Heyward Family of Trawscoed Hall, Guilsfield.
Montgomeryshire Collections 88 (2000), p. 37-52
Guilsfield : a pictorial history. [S.l.] : Powysland Club, 1999. 90p
Parish of Guilsfield : Guilsfield cemetery : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 94p
Parish of Guilsfield : Parish Church of St. Aelhaiarn, Geuffordd Presbyterian Chapel, Moriah Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Pentrebeirdd Independent Chapel, Sarnau United Reformed Chapel, Temple Presbyterian Chapel, Groeslwyd : memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 134p
Parish of Guilsfield : Parish Church of St Aelhaiarn - : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 132p
Thomas, David R. Guilsfield : extract from "Esgobaeth Llanelwy, the history of the Diocese of St Asaph ...".
Cronicl Powys. No. 53 (Aug. 2001), p. 39-43
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Guilsfield parish 1841-1901
Church History
Church and chapel data from
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,
1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 14835 acres; Population 1187 males, 1210 females, total 2397
- Guilsfield Parish Church Attendance - morning 190 + 30 scholars, afternoon 85 + 29 scholars "A rainy day, and the Footpaths bad, after a rainy week" Services in English C T C Luxmoore, Vicar
-
- Tabernacle, Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1820 Attendance - morning 25 + 51 scholars, evening 40 + 63 scholars Rees Davies, Manager
- Geifor, Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1843 Attendance - morning 41 scholars, afternoon 70, evening 65 William Jones, Secretary, Bronvraith, Guildsfield
- Pentre Beirdd Chapel, Independent Erected c 1820 Attendance - afternoon 38 + 14 scholars John Davies, Deacon
- PoolQuay, Calvinistic Methodist Not a separate building Attendance - afternoon 31 + 22 scholars Richard Jones, Deacon
- Pool Quay, Primitive Methodist Erected 1847 A room set apart, used exclusively as a place of worship Attendance - evening 80 George Dudley, Steward
- Temple, Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1840 Attendance - morning 58 + 20 scholars, afternoon 58 scholars, evening 94 + 40 scholars William Davies, Superintendent, Glanllyn
- Upper Chapel, Groeslwyd, Independent Erected 1823 Attendance - morning 14 scholars, afternoon 53 Griffith Williams, Deacon, Moelgarth
- Wesleyan Methodist Not used exclusively as a place of worship Attendance - afternoon 50 Edward Watson, Wesleyan Minister, Welshpool
- *Pantmawr, Independents A room in a farmhouse, not used exclusively as a place of worship Attendance - morning 71 John Davies, Manager, Pantmawr
- *Tirnewidd, Calvinistic Methodists Room in a farmhouse Attendance - morning 87 + 30 scholars, afternoon school John Davies, Manager, Pantmawr (Compare the previous return?)
- Maesgwyn, Calvinistic Methodist A room in a farmhouse Erected before 1821 Attendance - average - morning 30 + 57 scholars "One Sermon in the month preached at this place, no stated minister, it belongs to Meifod Welsh Methodists Chapel" John Thomas, Manager, Clwydyronen
GUILSFIELD, New Church, Llanerchbrochwel 1837-1838
- on the Church plans online site
Church of St Aelhaiarn, Guilsfield on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas.
Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Groeslwyd chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation Also Pentre'r Beirdd chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2010)
Church Records
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1572-1642, 1696-1960; Marriages 1572-1642, 1696-1991; Burials 1572-1642, 1696-1994; Banns 1859-1960
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
Guilsfield Village site
The Guilsfield Hoard (Bronze Age) - on the Gathering the Jewels site
Cefn Du Motte, Guilsfield
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Warren Williams, Marion, family papers "Family and personal papers of Marion Warren Williams, 1864-1991, including scrapbooks containing notes, newspaper cuttings and printed ephemera, mainly relating to Guilsfield and Welshpool, Montgomeryshire, 1864-1991..................."
- Papers Relating to Private John Higgins "John Higgins (1894-[1917]) was the son of Margaret (b. 1851) and Robert Higgins (d. 1899), of Guilsfield, Montgomeryshire. In November 1914, he enlisted in the Royal Welsh Fusiliers, serving in France as a stretcher bearer. On 28 March 1917, he went missing in an action near Arras, Pas-de-Calais, France. Subsequent attempts by his mother and sister to trace him proved fruitless, and in 1918 he was officially presumed dead."
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanerchfrochwel estate, records 1689-1883 "Llanerchfrochwel is in the parish of Guilsfield, Montgomeryshire. The Llanerchfrochwel estate was possibly owned by the Adams family from at least 1690 until the early nineteenth century"
- Burgedin, Guilsfield, deeds 1712-1938 (mainly 1712-1881) "Edward Pryce (fl. 1729-1761) of Burgedin, Guilsfield, Montgomeryshire, married Anne Henley (fl. 1729-1761) of Welshpool........"
- Garth estate, Montgomeryshire, records 1826-1857 "The Garth estate was located in the parishes of Guilsfield, Meifod and Llandrinio, Montgomeryshire; in the early 19th century is was held by the Rev. Richard Mytton ...."
- Guilsfield Papers [Reverend David Pryce (1856-1933) of Trawscoed House, Guilsfield, Montgomeryshire was born in Guilsfield.] Includes "...... a surveyor's book for Burgedin township, Guilsfield 1863-1864........."
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Guilsfield in 1842, and 1901
Township of Tirymynech, parish of Guilsfield, county of Montgomery, 1900.
"Traced at the Board of Agriculture from the 2nd Class Tithe Map, T.R. 20.3.00" and "G.H.B. 22.3.00" annotated below scale bar. Inset: Altered apportionment. On OS Montgomeryshire 16 SW. Ink and colour on tracing linen. Encapsulated.
Shows farms, numbered fields and other plots, together with their boundaries, road, drainage networks, and parish / township boundaries. Altered apportionment (dated 26th August 1869) at a scale of 1in. = 6 chains shows the route of the proposed railway (Cambrian line) alongside the Welshpool to Oswestry Road and immediately to the north and south of Tyn y Celyn farm
Also similar maps for;
- Townships of Gungrogfechan, Trelydan & Garth, parish of Guilsfield, county of Montgomery, 1900.
- Townships of Hendrehenllan & Trowscoed, parish of Guilsfield, county of Montgomery, 1900.
- Townships of Upper & Lower Broniarth, parish of Guilsfield, county of Montgomery, 1900
- Townships of Varchoel, Burgedin & Rhetescyn, parish of Guilsfield, county of Montgomery, 1900
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Guilsfield Parish Magazines "Copies of
Spotlight on Guilsfield parish magazine, 1975-1993"
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Guilsfield Parish and Community Council Records 1962-1987
- Williams, Lot, shoemaker's records [Pontrobert,Meifod] Includes " ........... highway rates book for Guilsfield, Montgomeryshire, 1856-1883......."
Victorian Powys for schools - Boarding out of children "John Tudor was sent to board with his grandfather in his home parish of Guilsfield [1891]"
Return to top
Cegidfa / Guilsfield
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 26 Sept 2011 - Gareth Hicks]