Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Hyssington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Hyssington

"HYSSINGTON (called by the Welsh IS-ATTYN), a parish partly in the hundred of CHIRBURY, county of SALOP, but chiefly in the lower division of the hundred of MONTGOMERY, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Montgomery, containing 337 inhabitants. The village is situated at the foot of a mountain, rising to the height of upwards of one thousand seven hundred feet above the level of the sea, and forming the forest of Corndon, or Carn Attyn, which is partly within the parish : this mountain has three summits, formed by three cairns,  ...  which command extensive views, embracing the Welsh mountains, and the Wrekin, Clee, Malvern, and other hills, together with the Black Mountain in Herefordshire.  ...  The church is a small structure, in the early style of English architecture, and appears to have been built within the precincts of an ancient castle,  ... " [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]

Bibliography

A Survey of the Lordship of Halcetor Co Montgomery dated 30th June 1609       Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 37  1915   Welsh Journals Online     

Price, Marilyn A. Monumental inscriptions in the parish churchyard of Hyssington, Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 22p

Williams, J B         A History of the Parish of Hyssington        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 35  1910   Welsh Journals Online  

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hyssington area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 1832 acres; Population 143 males, 135 females, total 278

  •  Hyssington Parish Church            Attendance - average - morning/evening 90          "The Church is served alternately with Snead when the one is in the morning the other is in the evening....."        

Church of St Etheldreda, Hysssington on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Hyssington

Church Records

Included township of Mucklewick, Shropshire (transferred to Shelve in 1884)

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

Extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below ( Parish Registers of Wales, 2000) ;

  • Baptisms ; Marriages ; Burials - all CMB with incumbent
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the Herefordshire Archives and/or SOG or Flintshire Archives 

Description and Travel

Hyssington Castle on the Castle Wales site

Historic Landscape Characterisation - Hyssington - on the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust site

You can see pictures of Hyssington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hyssington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hyssington to another place.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Hyssington deeds deposited by Wace, Morgan and Salt, solicitors   "Deeds, 1892-1900, relating to Fishpool Farm and other properties in Hyssington, Montgomeryshire"

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO312941 (Lat/Lon: 52.540366, -3.015884), Hyssington which are provided by:

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Hyssington Parish Council records  1839-1855

Social life and Customs

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Hyssington and Churchstoke Girl Guides, minutes   1928-1993