GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANBRYN-MAIR

Bibliography

Bassett, Douglas A. Iorwerth Cyfeiliog Peate : a short anthology : prepared to accompany a lecture on Iorweth Peate of Llanbryn-Mair and the Welsh Folk Museum ... 24 August 1996. [Montgomery?] : Montgomeryshire Society, 1996. Burials in the Parish of Llanbrynmair in the county of montomery 1711 - 1749 : bishop's Transcripts collated with the parish registers. [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2002. 36p

Burials in the Parish of Llanbrynmair in the County of Montgomery 1663-1711 : Bishops' Transcripts collated with the parish registers. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 58p

Griffiths, George R. Davies/Davis of Llanbrynmair, Wales. [Chandler, AZ] : [George R. Griffiths], [1993] 31p Hen Gapel Llanbrynmair, 1739-1939 : ysgrifau. [Llanbrynmair] : [Eglwys Gynulleidfaol Hen Gapel Llanbrynmair], 1989. 125p

Jones, E Pan. Cofiant y tri brawd o Llanbrynmair a Conwy. Bala : Evans, 1892. 358p. (Samuel, Richard & John Roberts) Monumental inscriptions : Llanbrynmair, Montgomeryshire : St Mary's Churchyard, Llan and Bont Dolgadfan Methodist Chapel. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1998. 46p

Parish of Llanbrynmair : Yr Hen Gapel : memorial inscriptions . [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 112p

Parish of Llanbrynmair: Parish Church of St Mary, Llan Aber Independent Chapel, Capel Bethel (C.M.), Bontdolgadfan Parish Church of St David, Dylife, Tafolwern Independent Chapel, Gwynfryn (C.M.) Chapel, Dylife, Soar Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Talerddig Independent Chapel, Llan village inscription, Llanbrynmair war memorial, Seion (Zion) Welsh Baptist Chapel, Dylife: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001.

Petley-Jones, David. A Llanbryn-Mair puzzle. Record: Journal of the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society. 19 (2001), p. 21-22

Street-Marshall, Tirymynech & Deytheur Enclosure Act 28 Geo III 1788    Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 34  1907   Welsh Journals Online

Ward, John             The Bronze Age in Montgomeryshire: The Tir y mynach or  'Guilsfield' horde         Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 41  1930   Welsh Journals Online  

Williams, Richard. A history of the Parish of Llanbrynmair. London : Printed by Whiting & Co, 1889. 186p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanbrynmair parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 19006 acres; Population 966 males, 1016 females, total 1982

LLANBRYNMAIR, St. John, Trefolwern   1866-1874     - on the Church plans online site

LLANBRYNMAIR, St. Mary    1857-1861    - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Mary, Llan on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Bontdolgadfan

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site ; -

 

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Llanbrynmair section (in Welsh) has been extracted    - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Sept 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Llanbrynmair  - on CPAT - an experimental interactive map

Llanbrynmair - on Wikipedia

Emigration and Immigration

Venedocia, Ohio  - "The original settlers of Venedocia Ohio came from farms near the towns of Llanbrynmair, Trefeglwys, and Darowen"

Gazetteers

History

Diosg farmhouse, Llanbrynmair - on the People's Collection Wales site    "Diosg was the farmhouse home near Llanbrynmair of the Reverend Samuel Roberts (S.R.) (1800-85), a preacher, author and radical reformer who led a party of local Welsh emigrants to America in 1856........."

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

The teachers Llanbryn-mair School 1898 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llanbryn-mair


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 4 April 2013 -  Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.