GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANDINAM

Bibliography

Carver, M D. The Hamer family: William Hamer, d.1743, of Llandinam. Cronicl Powys. No. 27 (1992), p. 36-38

Jones, Goronwy. David Davies (1818-1890) Llandinam. Gwrecsam : Hughes a'i Fab, 1913. 80p

Jones, John. Y Parch. Evan Jones, Brynhafren, Llandinam : ynghyda byr hanes teulu y Wern. Treffynon : Argraffwyd gan P. M. Evans and Son, [1897?] 25p

Jones, J Graham. The Peacemonger: David Davies, the first Baron Davies of Llandinam (1880-1944). Journal of Liberal Democrat History, 29 (Winter 2000 / 2001), 16-23. Memento of the second reunion of the 14th (Service) Battalion Royal Welch Fusiliers who sailed to France on December 1st, 1915 held at Llandinam from 30th July to 4th August, 1937. 1937. 42p

Memoir and sermons of the late Rev. David Lloyd Jones, M.A., Llandinam. Wrexham : Hughes and Son, 1912. 360p

Morris, E Ronald. Banhadlog Church (Capel Banhadlog or Old Chapel), Llandinam parish, Montgomeryshire. Cronicl Powys. No. 18 (1988), p. 36-7

Owen, Cecil E. Presbyterian Church of Wales Llandinam centenary 1873 - 1973. [Llandinam] : [Llandinam Presbyterian Church], [1973]. 22p Parish of Llandinam : Parish Church of St Llonio : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 161p. And 2nd ed 2001.

Parish of Llandinam : Presbyterian Church, village inscriptions, war memorial, Banhadlog Chapel of Ease, Beulah Baptist Chapel, Caerau Wesleyan Methodist Chapel : memorial inscriptions. S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 69p

Pryce, Jeremy. Llandinam : a glimpse of the past. Llandinam : Jeremy Pryce, 2002. 164p

Steeds, David. David Davies, Llandinam, and international affairs. Transactions of the Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion 2002, 9 (2003), 122-134.

Thomas, Archdeacon       The Rowley Morris Deeds        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Thomas, Ivor. Top Sawyer : a biography of David Davies of Llandinam. Carmarthen : Golden Grove Editions, 1938,1988(reprint). 355p

Welsh Land Commission. Summary of the evidence of Mr. Edward Davies, Plas-Dinam, Llandinam : given at Newtown, November 5th, 1894. Newtown : "Express & Times" Office, 1894. 39p

Williams, Gwyn A. Architect of empire : Gwyn A. Williams charts the astonishing rise and fall of nineteenth-century imperial Wales with the help of a new biography by Herbert Williams of the Welsh entrepreneur, David Davies of Llandinam. New Welsh Review 5/2 (1992), p. 42-5

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llandinam parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Caerau Wesleyan M Chapel, Llandinam

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Llonio's Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 18064 acres; Population 784 males, 801 females, total 1585

LLANDINAM, St. Llonio  1864-1866  - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Llonio, Llandinam on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Llandinam - Ian Shirley's site

Aerial photograph of Llidiart-y-Waun Windfarm, Llandinam, 2001 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Gazetteers

Genealogy

100 Welsh Heroes site - David Davies, Llandinam

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools - Map of Llandinam in 1903, and 1836

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llandinam


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[3 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.