Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llandrinio

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llandrinio

Bibliography

A Llandrinio Deed, 1595         Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 35  1910   Welsh Journals Online  

Griffiths, W A          Parish of Llandrinio: Additional Notes on the Griffithses of Trederwen         Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 35  1910   Welsh Journals Online  

Griffiths, W A    Lay subsidy rolls for the hundreds of Deythur and Pool, 39 Elizabeth and 3 James 1        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 38  1917   Welsh Journals Online  

Griffiths, William Arthur        A short account of the family of Griffiths       Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Parish of Llandrinio; Lay subsidies        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 38  1917   Welsh Journals Online  

Thomas, Archdeacon             Llandrinio, 1809-1846          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Thomas, David. Crosswood Camp, Llandrinio, Powys. Archaeology in Wales 32 (1992), p. 18-19

Thomas, David R. History of the parish of Llandrinio. London : Printed at the Bedford Press, 1895. 292p. "Reprinted from the Montgomeryshire Collections."

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llandrinio parish 1841-1901

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llandrinio area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Tabernacle Methodist Chapel, Arddleen

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 3832 acres; Population 467 males, 458 females, total 925

  • Llandrinion Parish Church               Attendance - morning 115 + 52 scholars, afternoon 13 + 29 scholars      Services in English               J Russell, Rector
  •  
  • Ebenezer or Rhose Comon Chapel, Primitive Methodists             Erected 1835                Attendance - afternoon 30, evening 40                     Evan Evans, Class Leader
  • Baptist Chapel, Sarnwen, Baptists                  Erected 1815                Attendance - general congregation 20             "Sir, I confess myself ignorant of many things but this I know that God hath exalted one to the British Throne of a true protistant spirit. May the Lord evermore preserve her royalty that truth may appear and Error flee away"          John Evans, Baptist Lay Leader

Church of St Trinio, St Peter & St Paul, Llandrinio on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1662-8, 1674-1993; Marriages 1664-5, 1675-86, 1688-1971; Burials 1662-7, 1687-97, 1709-1718, 1728-74, 1781-1993
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Pool, parish of Llandrinio 1684 - on the NLW site

You can see pictures of Llandrinio which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llandrinio has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llandrinio to another place.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Bryn-y-Pys [Flintshire?]  manuscripts  1726-1968    "The Bryn-y-Pys estate was held by the Price family for many generations but was sold by Francis Richard Price to Edmund Ethelston in about 1850..............The Ethelston family also acquired an estate in Llandrinio, Montgomeryshire"  
  • Sales Particulars, Montgomeryshire  1919-1922     "Sales particulars for: New Hall Farm and Penymaes, Llandrinio ......................."

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ295171 (Lat/Lon: 52.746881, -3.045866), Llandrinio which are provided by:

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llandrinio Parish Council Records  1910-1915      "..............including electoral registers, 1910-1911"