GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANDYSILIO

Bibliography

Barford, P M. Iron spearhead and javelin from Four Crosses, Llandysilio, Powys. Medieval Archaeology 30 (1986), p. 103-6

Brown, Roger L. Patronage, fees and fixtures : some notes on the history of the parish of Llandysilio. Montgomeryshire Collections 85 (1997), p. 101-4

Owen, Glyn. Pit alignments at Four Crosses, Llandysilio, Powys. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 77 (1989), p. 27-40 Parish of Llandysilio : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 75p

Pryce, Thomas. History of the parish of Llandysilio. Oswestry : Printed by Woodall, Minshall, Thomas and Co., 1899-1902. 244p. Reprinted from the Montgomeryshire Collections, 1899-1902.   

Pryce, Thomas. History of the parish of Llandysilio.    Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire and its borders Pt 3   Vol 32  1902   Welsh Journals Online & Pt 4    Vol 32  1902   Welsh Journals Online

Warrilow, Walt. Eight ring-ditches at Four Crosses, Llandysilio, Powys, 1981-85. Proceedings of the Prehistoric Society 52 (1986), p. 53-87

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 3141 acres; Population 271 males, 286 females, total 557

Church of St Tyslio, Llandysilio on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Domgay  chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Bromfield and Yale, parish of Llandysilio, Montgomery  1681   - on the NLW site

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

 

Return to top

Llandysilio


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 29 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.