GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANDYSUL / LLANDYSSIL

Bibliography

A collected history of the communities of Llandyssil, Abermule & Llanmerewig. Abermule : Llandyssil Community Council, 1999. 146p

Brown, Roger L. Llandyssil : an uncertain rectory and an uncomfortable living. Montgomeryshire Collections 84 (1996), p. 103-13

Gibson, Alex. A cropmark enclosure and a sherd of later Neolithic pottery from Brynderwen, Llandyssil [sic], Powys. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 11-15

Morris, Philippa. Morris, Davies and Jones in Kerry, Montgomery and Llandyssul. Cronicl Powys. No. 20 (1989), p. 53-61 Parish of Llandyssil : St. Tyssil Parish Church and Bethesda and Moriah Presbyterian Chapels (Memorial Inscriptions). [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c1996.
PS. The author, who is still researching and has progressed much further than at the time of the article, is happy to hear from any one with relevant queries about Llandyssil ( Peach Trees, Gravesend 2401 NSW)

Smith, Douglas W. Martin Grundman of Llandyssil. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 74 (1986), p. 91

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llandysul parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Tyssil's Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 4071 acres; Population 408 males, 400 females, total 808

LLANDYSSIL, St. Tyssil   1863-1864  - on the Church plans online site

The Incorporated Church Building Society site has details of plans submitted in respect of St Tyssil Church, Llandyssil. A grant for rebuild was approved in 1863/4 and rejected in 1866/7.

This church is not included in the CPAT's Montgomershire Churches Survey (which covered pre C19th churches only), I understand that the present church, built 'c 1865' is still in use, and that the earlier church only has a porch surviving and a graveyard

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llandysul in 1843, and 1901

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

Victorian Powys for schools site - Inspector's report on Llandyssil National school in 1867 and Log Book entry from 1888

 

Return to top

Llandysul / Llandyssil


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 July 2012 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.