Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llanerfyl

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanerfyl

Bibliography

Edwards, Griffith. The works of the Rev. Griffith Edwards (Gutyn Padarn), M.A., F.R.H.S., late Vicar of Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire : parochial histories of Llangadfan, Garthbeibio, and Llanerfyl, Montgomeryshire, together with Welsh and English poetry. London : Elliot Stock, 1895. 296p Parish of Llanerfyl: Nonconformist Cemetery, Bethel Independent Chapel, Gosen Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Beulah Independent Chapel: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2002. 46p

Silvester, R J. A lithic scatter on Mynydd Carreg-y-big, Llanerfyl. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 80 (1992), p. 31-7

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanerfyl 1841-1901

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanerfyl area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 16255 acres; Population 468 males, 443 females, total 911

  •  Llanerfyl Parish Church           Attendance - morning 40, evening 28          Services in Welsh            Lewis Richards, Deacon
  •  
  • Philadelphia, Wesleyan Methodists             Erected 1836                 Attendance - morning 32, afternoon 30 scholars, evening 84                  David Davies, Chapel Steward, Llanerfyl
  • Bethel, Independent or Congregationalist              Erected 1824              Attendance - morning 57, afternoon 24 scholars, evening 38              Revd. E Roberts, Minister
  • Beulah Chapel, Independent                 Erected 1821             Attendance - morning 62 scholars, afternoon 110, evening 70                    "Tir Uchaf S. School in the same parish belongs to this Beulah Chapel Congregation"            Samuel Roberts, Minister, Llanbrynmair
  • Gosen, Wesleyan Methodist             Erected 1835                  Attendance - morning 50, afternoon 50, evening 40                  Evan Davies, Superintendant, Ty Mawr, Llanerfyl
  • New Chapel, Wesleyan Methodists          Erected 1842                Attendance - morning 13 scholars, afternoon 35, evening 34                Evan Jones, Chapel Steward, Pantyrhendre, nr Llanerfyl

Church of St Erfyl, Llanerfyl on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Bethel, and Beulah

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Gosen

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Beulah  section (in Welsh) has been extracted- with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)           Also Llanerfyl chapel  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Oct 2009)  

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1626-40, 1643-5, 1648, 1660, 1662-71, 1674-1991; Marriages 1626-36, 1663-70, 1674-1970; Burials 1626-45, 1652-3, 1660, 1662-71, 1674-1907
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives(where there may be a more complete coverage within the  dates shown above).  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives 

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanerfyl which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanerfyl has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanerfyl to another place.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Kerry, Llanerfyl, Llanfair Caereinion and Mochdre, deeds  1617-1901    "..................... The properties of Tyddyn y Gardden and Tyddyn y Gogrydd, now Rhyd-y-Gro, were in the parishes of Llanerfyl and Llanfair Caereinion, and were owned by Rees Thomas (fl. 1723-1748) and his descendants ......................."

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanerfyl in 1836, and 1902

 


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ033097 (Lat/Lon: 52.676321, -3.431710), Llanerfyl which are provided by: