GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANERFYL

Bibliography

Edwards, Griffith. The works of the Rev. Griffith Edwards (Gutyn Padarn), M.A., F.R.H.S., late Vicar of Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire : parochial histories of Llangadfan, Garthbeibio, and Llanerfyl, Montgomeryshire, together with Welsh and English poetry. London : Elliot Stock, 1895. 296p Parish of Llanerfyl: Nonconformist Cemetery, Bethel Independent Chapel, Gosen Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Beulah Independent Chapel: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2002. 46p

Silvester, R J. A lithic scatter on Mynydd Carreg-y-big, Llanerfyl. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 80 (1992), p. 31-7

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanerfyl 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 16255 acres; Population 468 males, 443 females, total 911

LLANERFYL, St. Erfyl  1868-1870   - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Erfyl, Llanerfyl on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Bethel, and Beulah

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Gosen

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Beulah  section (in Welsh) has been extracted- with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)           Also Llanerfyl chapel  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Oct 2009)  

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanerfyl in 1836, and 1902

 

Return to top

Llanerfyl


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 July 2012 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.