Nearby places
LLANFAIR CAEREINION
Ballantyne, Hugh.
The Welshpool and Llanfair Railway : a nostalgic trip along the whole route from Welshpool (GWR) to Llanfair Caereinion. Wadenhoe : Past & Present, 2001. 80p
Carver, B E V.
Monumental inscriptions : Capel Horeb, Methodistiaid Calfinaidd Cymraeg : Horeb Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Chapel : Llanfair Caereinion Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 16p
Carver, B E V.
Monumental Inscriptions : Penarth Independent Chapel, Llanfair Caereinion, Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 21p
Carver, M D. Llanfair Caereinion tithe apportionment.
Cronicl Powys. No. 19 (1988), p. 66-7
Carver, M D.
Monumental inscriptions : Old Baptist Chapel Burial Ground and Zion Baptist Chapel : Llanfair Caereinion Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M.E. MacSorley, 1996. 6p
Carver, M D. The rise of Independency in the parish of Llanfair Caereinion, Montgomeryshire.
Cronicl Powys. No. 11 (1985), p. 11-12
Cerdded o fewn o gwmpas Llanfair Caereinion = Walks in and around Llanfair Caereinion. Llanfair Caereinion : Llanfair Caereinion and District Forum, 2001. 16p
Davies, T Alun. Rural clockmaking in eighteenth-century Wales : Samuel Roberts of Llanfair Caereinion, 1775-1874.
Business History Review 59/1 (1985), p. 49-75
Morrell, Emily.
Llanfair Caereinion. [Llanfair Caereinion] : Paul Adams, [1988] 10p
Owen, Robert.
The official handbook to the Lordship of Caereinion : containing the topography and history and several legendary tales of Llanfair and the other five Parishes of Caereinion ... Welshpool : R. & M. Owen, 1903. 46p
Parish of Llanfair Caereinion : Bethlehem Welsh Presbyterian Chapel ... : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 152p
Pryce, W T R.
The photographer in rural Wales : a photographic archive of Llanfair Caereinion, Powys and its region, c.1865-1986. Llanfair Caereinion : Powysland Club, 1991.
Pryce, W T R et al.
Samuel Roberts, Clockmaker: an C18th craftsman in a rural community 1985
Roberts, Merfyn.
109 'dan ni yma o hyd' : hanes addysg ganolradd, eilradd ac uwchradd yn Llanfair Caereinion 1894-2003. Llanfair Caereinion : Ysgol Caereinion, 2003. 10p
Spencer, Kirsten.
Local walks around Welshpool and Llanfair Caereinion. Machynlleth : Kittiwake, 2003. 32p
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Midland Bank, Llanfair Caereinion branch, papers " ............ including minutes; papers relating to the centenary of the Midland Bank in Llanfair Caereinion, 1980-1981;.........."
- R. D. Hughes & Sons, Grocer and Confectioner, Llanfair Caereinion business records 1913-1965
- Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, papers 1897-1923 "Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway, Montgomeryshire, opened in 1903, linking the rural communities around Llanfair Caereinion to the market at Welshpool. The line carried only freight from 1931 and closed in 1956 ............"
- Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, photographs 1971
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanfair Caereinion 1841-1901
Church History
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llanfair Caereinion St Mary's Church
See John Ball's site Welsh
Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Mary's Church
Church and chapel data from
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,
1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 16157 acres; Population 1341 males, 1386 females, total 2727
- Llanfair Caereinion Parish Church Attendance - morning 72, afternoon 25 "Services .... alternately Welsh and English" John Jones, Curate
-
- Bethesda, Wesleyan Methodists Erected 1819 Attendance - morning 72 + 52 scholars, evening 126 + 64 scholars John Evans, Steward, Quarry, Llanfair
- Lower Chapel, Welsh Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1802 Attendance - morning 33 scholars, afternoon 377, evening 391 Thomas Hughes, Secretary, Grocer
- Addolfa, Disciples Erected 1849 (Note - this is a congregation of Campbellites) Attendance - morning 71 scholars, afternoon 108, evening 111 William Watkin, Minister
- Baptist Chapel, General Baptists Erected 1825 Attendance - morning school, afternoon 155, evening 157 Richard Jones, Baptist Minister
- Upper Chapel, Independents Erected 1816, rebuilt 1844 Attendance - morning 57 scholars, afternoon 66 scholars, evening 132 John Evans, Elder, Heniarth, Llanfair
- Horeb, Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1825 Attendance - morning 130 + 36 scholars, afternoon 87 scholars Edward Benbow, Deacon, Bronffyn, Llanfair
- Penarth Congregational Chapel, Independent Erected c 1785, rebuilt 1847 Attendance - afternoon 217 "Penarth Chapel is situated on the Borders of Llanvair and Manavon parishes. Many attend it from both parishes. It will contain about 350 hearers. Many attend the congregation and school every other Sunday, as they are obliged to remain at home to look after their infants and farms etc. ..................." Robt. Dafydd Thomas, Minister
- Canaan, Independent Erected 1845 Attendance - Morning 80, evening 22 "This place is connected with Penarth Chapel....." Robt. Dafydd Thomas, Minister
- Siloh, Independents Erected 1826 Attendance - morning 69, afternoon 65 scholars, evening 76 David Davies, Deacon, Tanyfawnog, Llanfair
- Soar, Rhosaflo Township. Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1826 Attendance - average - morning 50 + 35 scholars, afternoon 70 + 60 scholars, evening 75 ""This Chapel is of a very small size erected for the accommodation of the Neighbourhood which was inconveniente to attend any other place of worship and it is well and regular attended by the inhabitants of the neighbourhood both Sunday School and Publick worship" William Jones, Deacon, Penyrwtia, Llanfair
- Pentyrch Chapel, Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1830 Attendance - average - morning 50 + 40 scholars, afternoon 80 + 70 scholars, evening 75 David Gittins, Deacon, Pentyrch
- Saron Chapel, Wesleyan Erected before 1817 Attendance - afternoon 40 + 40 scholars, evening 30 Evan Evans, Steward, Gwaenynog, Llanfair
- Sardis, Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1844 Attendance - morning 28, evening 17 David Davies, Steward, Cefnymynydd, Llanfair
- Dolanog Chapel, Independents Erected 1805 Attendance - morning 22, evening 49 Thomas Hughes, Steward, Buarthbachog
- Bethlehem, Welsh Calvinistic Connection Erected 1824 Attendance - average - afternoon 75, evening 80 John Nutting, Deacon, Pentre
Church of St Mary, Llanfair Caereinion on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas.
Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Penuel chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation Also Penarth chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Llanfaircaereinion chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Siloh chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Dolanog chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Canaan chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)
Church Records
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1608-1622, 1624-1666, 1669-76, 1680-1702, 1723-1992; Marriages 1608-1622, 1624-43, 1662-6, 1670-6, 1680-1702, 1723-1955 ; Burials 1608-1622, 1624-1667, 1670-6, 1680-1702, 1723-1992
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Capel Pentyrch, cofysgrifau (records) "Adeiladwyd a sefydlwyd Capel Methodistiaid Calfinaidd Pentyrch, Four Crosses, Llanfair Caereinion, yn 1834. Gelwid y capel weithiau yn gapel y Gelli am ei fod wedi cael ei adeiladu ar dir y Gelli. Mae'r capel yn rhan o Ddosbarth Llanfair, Henaduriaeth Trefaldwyn Isaf." "A certificate in order that marriages be registered for Pentyrch Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Llanfair Caereinion, 1 December 1948.
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfair Caereinion and district
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Gelli estate, records "Deeds relating to properties in Montgomeryshire, 1610-1890, including y Gelli and Pentyrch, Llanfair Caereinion"
- William Edwards of Ludlow: property in Montgomeryshire "Deeds and other documents, 1809-1839, relating to property in Llanfair Caereinion and Manafon, Montgomeryshire"
- Kerry, Llanerfyl, Llanfair Caereinion and Mochdre, deeds 1617-1901 "..................... The properties of Tyddyn y Gardden and Tyddyn y Gogrydd, now Rhyd-y-Gro, were in the parishes of Llanerfyl and Llanfair Caereinion, and were owned by Rees Thomas (fl. 1723-1748) and his descendants ......................."
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesMap of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfair Caereinion in 1836, and 1902
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanfair Caereinion Public Hall and Institute, minutes 1914-1956
- Llanfair Caereinion Town Council records 1894-1981
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfair Caereinion - Victorian School Days
Return to top
Llanfair Caereinion
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[3 Oct 2012 - Gareth Hicks]