We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



Parish of Llanfechain : Parish Church of St. Garmon and Soar Presbyterian Chapel : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 100p

Williams, W Maddocks. A slight historical and topographical sketch of the parish of Llanfechain in the county of Montgomery. London : Richards, 1872. 84p


Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanfechain parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 4462 acres; Population 340 males, 353 females, total 693

  • Llanfechan Parish Church                 Attendance - morning 130,  afternoon 50                   Services - English in morning, Welsh in afternoon                    W T Thomson, Curate
  • Wesleyan            Erected 1833              Attendance - morning 20 scholars, afternoon 60, evening 40             Rich. Prichard, Minister
  • Peniel, Wesleyan Methodist            Erected July 1st 1834      Attendance - morning 20 scholars, afternoon 40, evening 30                John Morris; William Watkin Lloyd, Grocer
  • Zoar, Calvinistic Methodist             Erected 1827            Attendance - morning 44, afternoon 53 scholars, evening 70               John Williams, Minister

Church of St Garmon, Llanfechain on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1603-1705, 1707-1993; Marriages 1603-1705, 1707-1870; Burials 1603-1705, 1707-1993; Banns 1824-1984
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives (the latter may have fuller coverage within the above dates).  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives 

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Pool, parish of Llanfechain 1681 & 1686   - on the NLW site

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanfechain which are provided by:

Aerial photograph of Domen Gastell, Llanfechain, 1995  - on the People's Collection Wales site


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanfechain has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Bodynfoel, deeds        "Deeds, 1627-1823, relating to properties in the township of Bodynfoel in the parish of Llanfechain, Montgomeryshire."  
  • Dr John Griffiths Collection of Diserth and Llanfechain Deeds        Include  "............ properties of the Jones family of Bryncynfelin in the parish of Llanfechain, 1651-1782"


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ188204 (Lat/Lon: 52.775037, -3.205163), Llanfechain which are provided by:

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanfechain in 1902, and 1840

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanfechain Parish, records   "Records of Llanfechain ecclesiastical parish, Montgomeryshire, 1705-1968, including ecclesiastical records, 1705-1956, including terriers, 1705-1856, and records relating to restorations to St Garmon's Church, 1838-1956; plans relating to a proposed new rectory, 1805, and village hall, 1897; records of Poor Law administration, 1735-1848, including bonds, summonses, settlement examinations and removal orders; records relating to tithes, 1838-1922, including tithe apportionments, 1838-1839; enclosure award and map, 1798; records relating to Llanfechain School and other local schools, 1875-1968; papers relating to various local charities, 1837-1956; deeds and valuations relating to properties in Llanfechain, 1785-1921; records relating to the upkeep of roads and bridges, 1794-1874; enumerator's returns for the census and ecclesiastical census, 1851"