We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



Davies, E H C. Property and landownership in Llangadfan. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 79 (1991), p. 29-112

Edwards, Griffith. The works of the Rev. Griffith Edwards (Gutyn Padarn), M.A., F.R.H.S., late Vicar of Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire : parochial histories of Llangadfan, Garthbeibio, and Llanerfyl, Montgomeryshire, together with Welsh and English poetry. London : Elliot Stock, 1895. 296p

Jenkins, Geraint H. 'A rank Republican [and] a leveller : William Jones, Llangadfan. (NLW's site)   Welsh History Review 17 (1995), p. 365-86

Jones, Eddie. William Jones, Llangadfan. [Brynaman] : Welsh Folk Dance Society, C1997. 25p Parish of Llangadfan, Parish Church of St. Cadfan : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 60p


Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llangadfan parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 16929 acres; Population 565 males, 514 females, total 1079

  •  Llangadfan Parish Church           Attendance - usual - morning 75 + 20 scholars, afternoon 25 scholars, evening 80       Services in Welsh        Informant; Griffith Howell, Registrar
  • Rehoboth, Calvinistic Methodist              Erected 1821             Attendance - morning 31, afternoon 65, evening 40               Robert Jones, Elder, Carno Office
  • Siloh, Calvinistic Methodist            Erected 1830            Attendance - morning 31, afternoon 41 scholars, evening 60                 Robert Lloyd, Manager, Llwydriaeth Park, Carno Office
  • Pontcadfan, Wesleyan Methodist          Erected 1823              Attendance - morning 39, evening 39                     William Powell, Wesleyan Minister
  • Voel Chapel, Independent             Erected 1806             Attendance - morning 32 scholars, afternoon 123           Edward Roberts, Independent Minister

Church of St Cadfan, Llangadfan on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Pontgadfan

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Foel

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Siloh

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Foel  chapel (in Welsh )  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1673-96, 1700-5, 1717-1879; Marriages 1673-96, 1700-1705, 1717-1811, 1813-1970; Burials 1673-96, 1700-1705, 1717-1920; Banns 1823-1950
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives 

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Pool, parish of Llangadfan 1681? & 1685  - on the NLW site

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llangadfan which are provided by:

St Cadfan's Well, Llangadfan by Laurence Main



Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Jones, William, (Llangadfan), papers   1995-1996    "The William Jones (Llangadfan) Memorial Committee (Cronfa Gofeb William Jones ) was formed to commemorate the bicentenary of the death of William Jones (1726-1795), from Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire, who was a poet, philosopher as well as a physician"

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangadfan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Earthenware crock, Llangadfan, late C19th - on the People's Collection Wales site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Sinnett, J. L. M., collection of Llangadfan deeds      "Deeds, 1719-1812, relating to the parishes of Llanerfyl and Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire, 1719-1812, and Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire, 1805-1809."


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ011108 (Lat/Lon: 52.685809, -3.464569), Llangadfan which are provided by:

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses