GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANGADFAN

Bibliography

Davies, E H C. Property and landownership in Llangadfan. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 79 (1991), p. 29-112

Edwards, Griffith. The works of the Rev. Griffith Edwards (Gutyn Padarn), M.A., F.R.H.S., late Vicar of Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire : parochial histories of Llangadfan, Garthbeibio, and Llanerfyl, Montgomeryshire, together with Welsh and English poetry. London : Elliot Stock, 1895. 296p

Jenkins, Geraint H. 'A rank Republican [and] a leveller : William Jones, Llangadfan. (NLW's site)   Welsh History Review 17 (1995), p. 365-86

Jones, Eddie. William Jones, Llangadfan. [Brynaman] : Welsh Folk Dance Society, C1997. 25p Parish of Llangadfan, Parish Church of St. Cadfan : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 60p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llangadfan parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 16929 acres; Population 565 males, 514 females, total 1079

Church of St Cadfan, Llangadfan on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Pontgadfan

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Foel

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Siloh

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Foel  chapel (in Welsh )  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Pool, parish of Llangadfan 1681? & 1685  - on the NLW site

Description and Travel

St Cadfan's Well, Llangadfan by Laurence Main

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

History

Earthenware crock, Llangadfan, late C19th - on the People's Collection Wales site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

 

Return to top

Llangadfan


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 July 2012  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.