GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANGYNOG

Bibliography

Bick, David E. Old metal mines of Mid-Wales : West Montgomeryshire, Aberdovey, Dinas Mawddwy and Llangynog. Newent, Glos. : Pound House, 1990. 52p Llangynog village workshops = Gweithdai pentref Llangynog. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire District Council, [1987] 12p

Williams, R A. The old mines of the Llangynog district (North Powys, Mid Wales). Sheffield : Northern Mine Research Society, 1985. 128p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llangynog  parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 3223 acres; Population 293 males, 275 females, total 568

Church of St Cynog, Llangynog on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Carmel

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Penuel

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Llangynog  chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Historic Landscape Characterisation  - The Tanat Valley - Llangynog on the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust site

Llangynog - on Wikipedia

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llangynog in 1840, and 1902

Occupations

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llangynog


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 10 Oct 2011 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI