Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llangynyw

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llangynyw

Bibliography

Astley, Elsie. Glancing back at Llangynyw School 1833-1966. [S.l.] : Stable Press, [1994] 28p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llangyniew 1841-1901

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llangynyw area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 4513 acres; Population 300 males, 296 females, total 596

  • Llangyniew Parish Church            Attendance - morning 20 + 9 scholars, evening 36 + 11 scholars              Services in Welsh, some English         Thomas Richards. Parish
  •  
  • Newbridge Chapel, Llangynyw, Calvinistic Methodist        Erected 1830       Attendance - morning 30, afternoon 52 scholars              John Richards, Deacon, Joseph Richards. Lower Hall, Myfod
  • Peniel, Independents                  Erected 1830                Attendance - morning 44 scholars, afternoon 65, evening 42       Thomas Hughes, Deacon,  (?) Llaeloddiau

Church of St Cynyw, Llangynyw on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1584-90, 1593-1683, 1729-1914; Marriages 1584-90, 1593-1649, 1661-1683, 1729-1969; Burials 1584-90, 1594-1683, 1729-1895
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives (the latter may have fuller coverage within the above dates).  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives 

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llangynyw which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangynyw has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangynyw to another place.

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ126088 (Lat/Lon: 52.669814, -3.293958), Llangynyw which are provided by:

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanfynyw Community Council records 1849-[c.1897]