GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

LLANLLUGAN

Bibliography

Barker, Eirlys M. Pryce Hughes of Llanllugan and South Carolina : a note. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 80 (1992), p. 123-8

Carver, B E V. Monumental Inscriptions : St Mary's Church in Wales, Llanllugan, Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 16p Parish of Llanllugan : Parish Church of St Mary, Caersalem Baptist Chapel, Carmel Calvinistic Methodist Chapel village inscriptions : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c1999. 36p

Llanllugan parochial registers     Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 34  1907   Welsh Journals Online  &  Vol 35  1910   Welsh Journals Online  

Owen, Edward     The Cistercian Nunnery at Llanllugan         Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 37  1915   Welsh Journals Online     

Silvester, R J. Pillow mounds at Y Foel, Llanllugan. Montgomeryshire Collections 83 (1995), p. 75-90

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanllugan 1841-1901

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llanllugan Convent Church of St Mary

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Mary's Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 3945 acres; Population 191 males, 174 females, total 365

LLANLLUGAN, St. Mary   1873-1875     - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Mary, Llanllugan on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

The Cistercian Way site - Llanllugan to Caersws

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanllugan in 1836, and 1902

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llanllugan


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 4 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI