Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
Register of successful vaccinations, April 1856-February 1859, Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn. [Welshpool?] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , c2001. 22 leaves
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re
- St Llanllwchaiarn's Church
- All Saints' Church, Newtown, Llanllwchaiarn
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 4426 acres; Population 1337 males, 1438 females, total 2775
- Llanllwchaiarn Parish Church Rebuilt 1815 Attendance - morning 60 + 30 scholars, afternoon 20 + 15 scholars Services in English John Peers Parry, Licensed Curate
Church of St Llwchaiarn, Llanllwchaern on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1658-1948; Marriages 1658-1975 (All Saints, Marriages 1891-1971 and Banns 1891-1949); Burials 1658-1993; Banns 1823-1932
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Llanllwchaearn which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Llanllwchaearn has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Penygloddfa in 1841, based on a detail from the tithe map for Llanllwchaearn parish - it gives a picture of this developing part of Newtown in the early years of Queen Victoria's reign
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO123925 (Lat/Lon: 52.523266, -3.294069), Llanllwchaearn which are provided by:
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Newtown and Llanllwchaearn Urban District Council, records 1892-1974