Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
Llanmyrewig / Llanmerewig
A collected history of the communities of Llandyssil, Abermule & Llanmerewig. Abermule : Llandyssil Community Council, 1999. 146p
Gibbings, Richard Rev & Basil Evan Jones A History of the Parish of Llanmerewig Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 35 1910 Welsh Journals Online
Jones, Basil Evan Further notes on the parish of Llanmerewig Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 37 1915 Welsh Journals Online
Lloyd, John D K. Llanmerewig Church : a short account. [Llanmerwig] : [Llanmerwig Church], [1977?] Parish of Llanmerewig, Parish Church of St Llwchaiarn : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 30p
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 978 acres; Population 101 males, 87 females, total 188
- Llanmerewig Parish Church Attendance - morning 56 + 14 scholars Services in English John Lloyd, Rector
- Wainhouse, Wesleyan Methodists Dwelling house Attendance - evening 35 Charles Stephens, Steward
Church of St Llwchaiarn, Llanmerewig on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1661, 1663-6, 1670-4, 1676-85, 1688-1993; Marriages 1670-4, 1676-85, 1688-1971; Burials 1663-6, 1670-4, 1676-85, 1688-1993; Banns 1825-1982
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Cedewain, parish of Llanmerewig 1681? & 1686- on the NLW site
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Llanmyrewig / Llanmerewig which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Llanmyrewig / Llanmerewig has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO159928 (Lat/Lon: 52.526531, -3.241097), Llanmyrewig / Llanmerewig which are provided by:
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanmerewig (Llanmyrewig) Parish Council records 1947-1967