We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



Parish of Llanwnog : nonconformist chapels, etc. - : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1998. 82p

Parish of Llanwnog, Parish Church of St. Gwynog : memorial inscriptions. Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society. 86p

The Llanwnog Millennium book : a collection of memories and photographs. Llanwnog : Llanwnog Social Committee, 2000. 88p

Pryce, T Davies     The fort at Caersws and the Roman occupation of Wales   Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 42  1932   Welsh Journals Online  

Wainwright, Lena. Llanwnog census 1841-1891. Llanwnog ; Llanwnog Social Committee, 2000. 24p


Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanwnog parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re

  • St Mary's Church, Caersws
  • Presbyterian Church, Caersws
  • St Gwynnog's Church, Llanwnnog

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Caersws, Presbyterian Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 10701 acres; Population 819 males, 826 females, total 1645

  • Llanwnnog Parish Church                Attendance - average - morning 200 + 50 scholars, evening 80 + 40 scholars                        Services in Welsh                     David Jones, Vicar
  • Sion, Congregationalist              Erected 1827            Attendance - afternoon 30 + 50 scholars              John Owen, Minister, Crescent Place, Newtown
  • Calvinistic Chapel, Calvinistic Methodist               Erected 1825           Attendance - morning 80 scholars, afternoon 120              Thomas Richards, Deacon, Grocer, Caersws, Llanwnog
  • Caersws Chapel, Baptist            Erected c 1820             Attendance - morning 40, afternoon 80 scholars, evening 250                 Jacob Nicholas, Pastor, Baptist Minister
  • Saron Chapel, Llanwynog, Calvinistic Methodists               Erected 1821, re-erected 1850                    Attendance - morning 90, afternoon 96 scholars, evening 100       "There is a school held in each of the three branches at the same time. That school is held in chapel and a service occasional"            Evan Jones, Deacon, Parc-y-rhiw
  • Shilo, Llanwynog, Wesleyn Methodist                  Erected 1847                  Attendance - morning 30 scholars, afternoon 72 + 21 scholars                Evan Richards, Wesleyan Minister

Church of St Gwynnog, Llanwnnog on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Llanwnog  section (in Welsh) has been extracted  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (March 2010)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1668-1775, 1783-1873; Marriages 1668-1911; Burials 1668-1882; Banns 1823-1849, 1875-1899
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanwnnog which are provided by:

Historic Landscape Characterisation - Caersws Basin on the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust site

Aerial photograph of Caersws Roman Fort on the People's Collection Wales site

Llanwnnog - on the Cistercian Way site



Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Mawn family, pedigree  1849   "William Mawn married Sarah Howell at Llanwnog, Montgomeryshire, in 1773. Their descendants lived in Llanwnog and Mochdre in the 19th century."

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanwnnog has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Henblas estate, Llanwnnog, papers       "Papers of the Jones family of Henblas, in the parish of Llanwnnog, Montgomeryshire, including deeds, 1611-1827, copy and draft wills and miscellaneous documents and letters, 1862-1933, veterinary recipes, 1809-20 cent., log book of the Llanwnnog National School, 1863-1876, and memoranda book kept by John Jones relating to his office as petty constable of the township of Pencoed in the parish of Llanwyddelan, 1809-1821"


Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Caersws in 1836, and 1903

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO022938 (Lat/Lon: 52.533229, -3.443269), Llanwnnog which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Victorian Powys for schools site - Caersws Workhouse


Powys - A Day in the Life - Llanwnog school in 1891