Nearby places
LLANWRIN
Barfoot, James. Two halves of prehistoric shafthole implements from Caeadda, Llanwrin.
Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 75 (1987), p. 96-9
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanwrin parish 1841-1901
Church History
Church and chapel data from
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,
1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 10351 acres; Population 386 males, 382 females, total 768
- Llanwrin Parish Church Attendance - morning 90 + 18 scholars, evening 40 + 18 scholars "This parish is mountainous & entirely agricultural with extensive farms near the Church, which is situated at the southern extremity - consequently only a few of the Inhabitants can without inconvenience from the distances of their residences assemble in the Church or Church School on Sundays regularly" Services in Welsh Isaac Bonsall, Rector
-
- Ebenezer, Calvinistic Methodist Erected 1841 Attendance - average - morning 75, afternoon 61 scholars, evening 75 "No service on the 30th of March except a School in the afternoon, a prayer meeting was held at a farm house called 'Ceninos', 70 persons present at 7 o'clock" John Jones, Superintendent, Culfylchau, Machynlleth
- Acher, Independent Erected 1831, not a separate building Attendance - morning 40, afternoon 32 scholars John Sylvester, Clerk and Teacher
- Saron Chapel, Independent Erected 1825 Attendance - morning 64, afternoon 40 scholars, evening 64 William Edwards, Deacon
- Llanwrin Chapel, Calvinistic Methodist Attendance - average - morning 80, afternoon 85 + 51 scholars, evening 80 Thomas Thomas, Deacon
- Sion, Calvinistic Methodist Erected 1821 Attendance - morning 52 scholars, afternoon 135, evening 92 William Williams, Deacon, Brynmelyn, Llanwrin
LLANWRIN, St. Gwrin 1864-1865
- on the Church plans online site
Church of St Gwrin, Llanwrin on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Saron
Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Cwmceirig
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas
Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Llanwrin section (in Welsh) has been extracted
- and translated by Maureen Saycell (Sept 2012)
Church Records
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1671-1690, 1695-1992; Marriages 1671-1690, 1695-1955; Burials 1671-1690, 1695-1993; Banns 1824-59
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
St Asaph Notitiae; deanery of Cyfeiliog and Mwddwy, parish of Llanwrin 1681 - on the NLW site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Mostyn, John, Rev. , of Friog, Trawsfynydd, archives Includes "..... register of ministers of Llanwrin, Montgomeryshire, 1560-1930, [undated]."
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Hengwrt-Uchaf collection "Deeds, 1641-1912, relating to the Hengwrt-uchaf estate mainly in Llanfachreth, Merionethshire, and Llanwrin, Montgomeryshire"
- Fronfelen estate, deeds "Records of the Fronfelen estate, 1810-1898, comprising deeds relating to property in Llanwrin, Montgomeryshire, and Pennal, Merionethshire, 1810-1898; miscellaneous death certificates and parish register extracts, 1846-1858."
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesMap of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanwrin in 1837, and 1903
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Parish and Community Council records 1894-1987
Return to top
Llanwrin
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[4 Sept 2012 - Gareth Hicks]