We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



Carver, B E V. Monumental inscriptions : ADFA Capel Methodistiaid Calfinaid [sic], Llanwyddelan Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, c1997. 34p Parish of Llanwyddelan, Parish Church of St. Gwyddelan, Adfa Calvinistic Methodist Chapel : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 90p


Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanwyddelan 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 3784 acres; Population 246 males, 245 females, total 491

  •  Llanwyddelan Parish Church              Attendance - morning 20 + 7 scholars, afternoon 28        Morning services in English, afternoon in Welsh             "..........the Church is situated at one extremity of the parish away from the mass of the population"                J McIntosh, Rector
  • Adfa Chapel, Welsh Calvinistic Methodists              Erected c 1790              Attendance - morning 175, afternoon 193 scholars, evening 235             Robert Davies, Minister

Church of St Gwyddelan, Llanwyddelan on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Adfa Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, historical notes    1992-[1993]    "Adfa Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, near Llanwyddelan, Montgomeryshire, was established in 1742. The chapel was built in about 1790"

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1783-1808, 1813-1944; Marriages 1784-1988; Burials 1783-1808, 1813-1993
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives  

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Cedewain, parish of Llanwyddelan 1681? & 1686 on the NLW site

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanwyddelan which are provided by:



Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Gittins family of Pengelly, Llanwyddelan, papers  1839-1871   "Richard Gittins of Penygelly, Llanwyddelan, Montgomeryshire, farmer, married Elizabeth Jones of Llangadfan, Montgomeryshire, in 1839. ......................."

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanwyddelan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ082011 (Lat/Lon: 52.599883, -3.356865), Llanwyddelan which are provided by:

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanwyddelan Parish and Community Council records  1894-1987