We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



See also the bibliography on the Machynlleth and Dyfi Valley site by Dick Williams

Barfoot, James. Machynlleth turnpike : pictorial evidence. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 163-4

Barfoot, James . Plas Machynlleth : arweinlyfr hanesyddol. Machynlleth : Norwich : Celtica ; Jarrold, 1997. 20p

Barfoot, James. Machynlleth Town Hall excavations, 1983. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 74 (1986), p. 79-84

Barfoot, James. Plas Machynlleth ice-house. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 74 (1986), p. 85-7

Bourne, Mark. Ash is for the crooks : the stickman of Machynlleth. Country Quest 26/5 (1985), p. 49-50

Briwnant-Jones, Gwyn. Railway through Talerddig : the story of the Newtown & Machynlleth and associated railways in the Dyfi Valley. Llandysul : Gomer, 1990. 144p Concrete by bucket and spade : gems of Italian Renaissance architecture created in miniature in a Welsh hillside garden near Machynlleth. Concrete Quarterly (Winter 1991), p. 26-7

Davies, David W. The Maglonians : one hundred years of football in Machynlleth 1885-1985. [s.l.] : Gwasg Cambria for Machynlleth Football Club, c1985. 76p

Davies, David W. The town of a prince : a history of Machynlleth. [Machynlleth] : Machynlleth Rotary Publishing, 1991. 177p

Davies, David W. Machynlleth town trail : (a historical guide to the town). Machynlleth : Machynlleth and District Civic Society, 1988. 37p

Davies, David W. The Parish Church of St. Peter, Machynlleth. Machynlleth : Rector, Churchwardens and Parochial Church Council, 1982. 12p

Davies, David W. The goodly heritage : a study of the development of religion in a Welsh town: Machynlleth = Yr etifeddiaeth deg . Machynlleth : Tabernacle Arts Centre,Machynlleth, 1988. 226p

Davies, David W. A history of education in Machynlleth : with particular reference to Machynlleth Junior and Infant Schools = Hanes addysg ym Machynlleth gan gyfeirio'n arbennig at yr Ysgol Gynradd ac Ysgol y Babanod. Machynlleth : Parent Teachers Association of Machynlleth Junior School, 1986. 75p

Davies, David W. A pictorial history of Machynlleth = Mewn hen luniau. Machynlleth : Machynlleth and District Civic Society, 1996. 201p

Evans, Elwyn.   Machynlleth Toll Books.   National Library of Wales journal Vol VI/1, Summer 1949. Full extract by Gareth Hicks plus name index on Genuki

Evans, J J               Argraffwyr Machynlleth       Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society  vol 9/2 1959              Welsh Journals Online

Gibson, Alex. The excavation of a malt-house in the grounds of Plas Machynlleth, 1994. Montgomeryshire Collections 85 (1997), p. 77-86

Green, Cedric C. The coast lines of the Cambrian Railways. including a general history of the Aberystwyth & Welsh Coast railway / Volume 1, ; Machynlleth to Aberystwyth. Didcot : Wild Swan, 1993.  282p

Handley, Roger. Walking around the Plynlimon hills : from Aberystwyth, Borth, Machynlleth, Talybont & Devils' [sic] Bridge. Machynlleth : Kittiwake, 2002. 32p Jones, Richard. History of Owain Glyndwr and his associations with Machynlleth. Machynlleth : Owain Glyndwr Centre Management Committee, [1996] 16p

Jones, Richard      Gwaith argraffwyr Machynlleth o 1789 ymlaen            Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society  vol 9/2 1959              Welsh Journals Online

Machynlleth and district, the official guide. Carshalton : Home Publishing, [1971] 40p Machynlleth from 'Pigot's North Wales directory', 1828. Cronicl Powys, No. 40 (April 1997), 17-19.

Morgan, Thomas O. New guide to Aberdovey and its neighbourhood : with some account of Towyn, Machynlleth, and the vales of Dovey and Dysynwy. Aberystwyth : J. Cox, 1854. 118p

Nixon, Margaret M. Craft of a byegone age is revived : [weaving at Machynlleth]. Country Quest 30/8 (1990), p. 36-7

Pritchard, Terry. Across the Plinlimon watershed : the walk from Machynlleth to Ponterwyd; [George Borrow's route]. In George Borrow Bulletin 6 (1993), p. 20-5

Sheringham, J D T. Machynlleth and Penegoes land tax 1794, MONT. Q/RE L2 - N.L.W. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 135-43 The parish of Machynlleth : church and parish accounts 1889 (presented at Easter Vestry, 1890). Machynlleth : Adam Evans, 1890. 20p

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Ratgoed Quarry Company, records   1827-1909      "Gaewern Slate Works, Machynlleth; Ratgoed Quarries, Tal-y-llyn; Cymerau Quarries, Tal-y-llyn; Llwyngwern Slate Quarry, Llanuwchllyn; Towyn Company Limited, Tywyn; Abercorris Slate Quarry, Rhiwgwreiddyn, Corris; Cambrian Slate Works, Machynlleth"  
  • Dyfi Valley Bookshop, [Machynlleth] notes and photocopies  1851-[20th century] (mainly [20th century])     "Notes (and presumably transcripts), [20th century], taken from papers offered for sale by Dyfi Valley Bookshop,..............................."  
  • Humphreys and Parsons, records  [solicitors, Machynlleth]             "Records of the practice of Humphreys and Parsons, Machynlleth, Powys, relating mainly to the clients of the solicitors ................ 19th cent. - 20th cent., including records relating to Machynlleth National School, 1853-1895; records relating to charities, 1846-1899; records of the Machynlleth Town Hall Company, 1871-1907; records relating to Machynlleth Urban District Council, 1895-1947; records relating to the Mid Wales Law Society, 1952-1963.


Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Machynlleth town 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Machynlleth Parish consisting of Machynlleth township, Isygarreg township and Uchygarreg township; statistics; Area 14861 acres; Population 1165 males, 1295 females, total 2460

  • Machynlleth township; population 761 males, 904b females, total 1665
  • St Peter's Parish Church         Attendance - morning 220, afternoon 176, evening 60        Services in English in morning, Welsh in afternoon and evening              George Venables, M.A., Rector
  • Salem, Machynlleth, Independents                Erected 1841           Attendance - average - morning 75 scholars, afternoon 150, evening 160            "The Sunday School is always held in the morning and is comprised of Adults as well as Children all of whom attend divine service in the afternoon and evening..........."              William Davies, Independent Minister, Machynlleth
  • Tabernacl, Machynlleth, Wesleyan Methodist         Erected 1806          Attendance - morning 80 scholars, afternoon 160, evening 300               John Hubert, Wesleyan Minister
  • Graig Chapel, Penyrallt St, Machynlleth, Independents       Erected before 1800       Attendance - morning school, afternoon 169, evening 147         Griffith Wilson, Deacon, Garth, Machynlleth
  • Room in Graig Fach, Machynlleth, Latter Day Saints           Erected 1850               Attendance - morning 13 scholars, afternoon 30, evening 35         Revd. Thos Ellis, Minister, Shoemaker
  • Bethesda, Machynlleth, Baptists             Erected 1838                 Attendance - morning 12 scholars, afternoon 18, evening 20           Lewis Roberts, Minister
  • Maengwyn Chapel, Machynlleth, Calvinistic Methodists          Erected before 1800            Attendance - morning 145 scholars, afternoon 377, evening 318      "The only Service held in the morning is a School. Our Sunday Schools in Wales are composed of Adults as well as Children. Many of the poor children belonging to this Congregation are educated in the National School and therefore are obliged by their Rules to attend Church twice every Sunday which accounts for the small number of children belonging to this School"          Thomas Hughes, Minister, Maengwyn St, Machynlleth
  • Isygarreg township; population 223 males, 192 females, total 415
  • Derwenlas Chapel, Welsh Calvinistic Methodist              Erected 1823          Attendance - morning 43, afternoon 34 scholars, evening 39              John M Jones, Deacon, Draper
  • Derwenlas, Independents                Erected 1848              Attendance - morning 67, afternoon 45 scholars, evening 65                   Rowland Evans, Deacon, (?) Morben Isaf, Machynlleth
  • Penuel, Glaspwll, Independents              Erected 1822        Attendance - morning 25 scholars, evening 54                 Thomas Lewis, Deacon, Caersaer, Machynlleth
  • Glaspwll, Wesleyan Methodist                  Erected 1820            Attendance - morning 25 scholars, afternoon 60, evening 40                John Hubert, Wesleyan Minister
  • Derwenlas, Wesleyan Methodist            Erected 1843                  Attendance - morning 60, afternoon 47 scholars, evening 50               John Hubert, Wesleyan Minister
  • Uchygarreg township; population 181 males, 199 females, totaL 380
  • Soar, Independent            Attendance - average - general congregation 38, scholars 20              Thomas Rowlands, Local Preacher, Dolgarnedd
  • Horeb, Uchygarreg, Wesleyan Methodist                 Erected 1841             Attendance - morning 23 scholars, afternoon 67, evening 65                 J Hubert, Minister
  • Forge Chapel, Uwchgarreg, Welsh Calvinistic Methodists        Erected 1825      Attendance - morning 71 scholars, evening 54             Thomas Hughes, Minister

Church of St Peter, Machynlleth on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Bethesda

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site :-

  • Aberhosan
  • Derwenlas
  • Graig

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site :-

  • Forge
  • Maengwyn St
  • Derwenlas

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Machynlleth section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (April 2010)    The Derwenlas section has been extracted, as has Glasbwll; and  Soar - all have been translated by Maureed Saycell (Sept 2012)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1684-1722, 1731-1993; Marriages 1684-1722, 1731-1971; Burials 1684-1722, 1731-1993
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Machynlleth Baptist Church       Birth and baptism register, 1801-1823        "The Baptists in Machynlleth met at first in members houses. John Blayney converted the upper storey of his house in Pentrerhedyn Street for use as a chapel, followed by David Pugh who placed the loft of the White Horse Inn at the disposal of the church. .................................."
  • Soar Congregational Chapel, Uwchygarreg, Machynlleth, records     "Records of Soar Congregational Chapel, Uwchygarreg, 1910-2000, including accounts, 1928-1957; Sunday School registers of attendance, 1914-1936; report on chapel, 2000; ..........................."

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Machynlleth which are provided by:

Machynlleth - Chamber of Trade site

Victorian Powys for schools - Machynlleth and the Dyfi Valley

Machynlleth - on Wikipedia



Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Rees, John Maldwyn, papers   "Papers relating to Richard Rees ('Maldwyn', 1851-1927), of Machynlleth, Montgomeryshire, and Edward Walter Rees, ('Gwallter Dyfi', 1881-1940), of Carmarthen, including correspondence, 1874-1940; printed materials, 1866-1937; papers relating to the National Eisteddfod and the Gorsedd of Bards, 1909-1939; papers relating to the National Petition on the Legal Status of the Welsh Language, 1938-1939; papers relating to Maengwyn Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Machynlleth, 1875-1920; and various papers relating to manifold aspects of Machynlleth life."  
  • Wiliams, William a Myfi, papurau (papers)  1835-1973     "Papers of the Rev. William Williams and his wife Myfi Williams. They include the diaries of the Rev. William Williams, 1936-1944, 1971-1984; papers, 1937-1942, dating from his schooldays and college days; lecture notes; research notes on the history of Maengwyn chapel, Machynlleth, and the Methodist cause in Montgomeryshire; sermons etc.; and poems and stories written by Rev. William David Davies. There are also four notebooks including drafts, 1973, of an intended novel by Rev. William Williams on Rev. John Elias (1774-1841). The papers of Mrs Myfi Williams include notebooks and files of notes on local history; compositions submitted for various eisteddfod competitions, 1958-1976; radio scripts, 1961-1967 etc. ......."   

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Machynlleth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Jones, David; First World War memoir    "David Jones was born in Machynlleth. He was called up in 1914, to the 7th Battalion, Royal Welsh Fusiliers. After training in England, he took part in the Gallipoli landings. He was injured and taken to the military hospital in Alexandria. ..........................."   
  • Diaries of Miss Olwen Trefor Jones, Machynlleth          "Miss Olwen Trefor Jones (fl. 1949-1994) lived in Machynlleth, Montgomeryshire (now Powys), and kept a journal"
  • Newtown and Machynlleth Railway, newspaper cutting      "Page, including engravings, from The Illustrated London News, 24 January 1963, relating to the opening of the Newtown and Machynlleth Railway"

Land and Property

Victorian Powys for schools site - Plas Machynlleth  - seat of the Londonderry family

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Bonsall family, papers     "Deeds, plans and other documents relating to Galltyllan estate in the parishes of Machynlleth, Penegoes and Darowen, Montgomeryshire, 1674-1919.............."
  • Bontdolgadfan (Williams family) papers      "Papers of the Williams family of Bontdolgadfan, including deeds for property in Bontdolgadfan, 1731-1877; Bontdolgadfan Calvinistic Methodist chapel baptism register, 1812-1864, records of Bontdolgadfan Welsh and English chapels, Machynlleth, 1867-1877; papers relating to eisteddfodau at Bontdolgadfan, Llanbrynmair and Machynlleth, 1870-1923; account and memorandum books relating to the Post Office, Bontdolgadfan, 1884-1902; records of the Llanbrynmair Agricultural School Library, 1845-1847; balance sheets of the [Llanbrynmair] Friendly Society, 1858-1876; family correspondence, school exercise books and personal papers of the Williams, Griffiths and Roberts families, 1836-1922, journal or autobiography of the Rev. Richard Williams, 1802-1842; records of the overseers of the poor for Llanbrynmair, 1744-1876; records of Maglona Lodge of Good Templars, Machynlleth and other societies, 1863-1877; sermon notes, 1816-1917; and diary of Richard Tibbott, 1741-1742."    
  • Dolforgan Estate Records  "Estate records, almost all title deeds, of the Dolforgan and Llynlleoedd [Machynlleth] estates, Montgomeryshire, 1570-1879, together with papers, mainly rentals, accounts, and particulars, of the following manors belonging to the Powis Castle estate: Kerry, Cydewain and Halcetor, 1579-1745, Starta Marcella, 1623-1702, and Tirymynech, 1650-[mid-18 cent.]."
  • Plas Machynlleth Estate Records     1604-1923      "The fist occupant of Plas Machynlleth (or Greenfields) was John Edwards (d. 1789), a Machynlleth solicitor, who purchased the property in the 1750s. ..........."


Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Machynlleth in1842, and 1903

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH746008 (Lat/Lon: 52.590467, -3.852608), Machynlleth which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Machynlleth Workhouse  - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Poor Law Union records  1837-1930     "Machynlleth Poor Law Union was formed in 1837 and operated in the constituent parishes of Cemmaes, Darowen, Isygarreg, Llanbrynmair, Llanwrin, Machynlleth, Penegoes and Uchygarreg in Montgomeryshire, Pennal, Tywyn in Merionethshire and Ysgubor-y-coed in Cardiganshire. ..................."  
  • Machynlleth Poor Law Union Relieving Officer, records  "Papers of Ivor Jones, Relieving Officer, 1922-1930, relating mainly to the cases of Mary Davies, Pennal, Merionethshire, and Ann Davies, Cemmaes, including letters, 1923-1930; bills and receipts, 1930."

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Henry Evans (Solicitor), Machynlleth, Records       "Records, 1837-1955, of former local government bodies of Machynlleth, Montgomeryshire, and neighbouring parts of Merionethshire, comprising minute books, letter books, ledgers, account books, reports, valuations, registers and rate books of the Machynlleth Poor Law Union, 1837-1930, minute books, letter books, ledgers, account books, reports, valuations, registers and rate books of the Machynlleth Rural District Council, 1892-1957, a letter book and rate account books of the Mallwyd Urban District Council, 1922-1930, and minute books, account books, registers and other records of the Machynlleth and Estimaner (Ystumanner) Petty Sessions, 1853-1953, together with miscellaneous administrative, financial and personal papers, 1837-1931, from the offices of Henry Evans relating to clients, local government, local businesses, and other solicitors who practised in and around Machynlleth"
  • Machynlleth salvage papers    "Machynlleth Salvage Papers, 1858-1925, including correspondence from Machynlleth Urban District Council clerks' office, 1895-1923; rate books, 1861-1886; Poor Law rate books, Machynlleth parish, 1916-1917; Machynlleth Poor Law Union overseer's book of receipts and payments, 1910-1927; papers relating to the local government elections, 1894-1908; Machynlleth Waterworks papers, 1878-1910; Dovey fishery papers, 1890-1902; papers relating to Royal visits, 1889-1911; papers relating to roads and streets, 1898-1911; Machynlleth sewerage schemes papers, 1897-1914; papers relating to Machynlleth town hall, 1862-1891; papers relating to Machynlleth markets and fairs, 1903-1916; papers relating to the fire brigade, 1909-1914; papers relating to Machynlleth isolation hospital, 1912-1913; and papers relating to the Owain Glyndwr Institute, 1910-1925"  
  • Machynlleth Rural District Council, records   1940-1974
  • Machynlleth Citizens Advice Bureau  1983-1997   
  • Machynlleth Urban District Council, records   1897-1974