GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

MACHYNLLETH

Bibliography

See also the bibliography on the Machynlleth and Dyfi Valley site by Dick Williams

Barfoot, James. Machynlleth turnpike : pictorial evidence. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 163-4

Barfoot, James . Plas Machynlleth : arweinlyfr hanesyddol. Machynlleth : Norwich : Celtica ; Jarrold, 1997. 20p

Barfoot, James. Machynlleth Town Hall excavations, 1983. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 74 (1986), p. 79-84

Barfoot, James. Plas Machynlleth ice-house. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 74 (1986), p. 85-7

Bourne, Mark. Ash is for the crooks : the stickman of Machynlleth. Country Quest 26/5 (1985), p. 49-50

Briwnant-Jones, Gwyn. Railway through Talerddig : the story of the Newtown & Machynlleth and associated railways in the Dyfi Valley. Llandysul : Gomer, 1990. 144p Concrete by bucket and spade : gems of Italian Renaissance architecture created in miniature in a Welsh hillside garden near Machynlleth. Concrete Quarterly (Winter 1991), p. 26-7

Davies, David W. The Maglonians : one hundred years of football in Machynlleth 1885-1985. [s.l.] : Gwasg Cambria for Machynlleth Football Club, c1985. 76p

Davies, David W. The town of a prince : a history of Machynlleth. [Machynlleth] : Machynlleth Rotary Publishing, 1991. 177p

Davies, David W. Machynlleth town trail : (a historical guide to the town). Machynlleth : Machynlleth and District Civic Society, 1988. 37p

Davies, David W. The Parish Church of St. Peter, Machynlleth. Machynlleth : Rector, Churchwardens and Parochial Church Council, 1982. 12p

Davies, David W. The goodly heritage : a study of the development of religion in a Welsh town: Machynlleth = Yr etifeddiaeth deg . Machynlleth : Tabernacle Arts Centre,Machynlleth, 1988. 226p

Davies, David W. A history of education in Machynlleth : with particular reference to Machynlleth Junior and Infant Schools = Hanes addysg ym Machynlleth gan gyfeirio'n arbennig at yr Ysgol Gynradd ac Ysgol y Babanod. Machynlleth : Parent Teachers Association of Machynlleth Junior School, 1986. 75p

Davies, David W. A pictorial history of Machynlleth = Mewn hen luniau. Machynlleth : Machynlleth and District Civic Society, 1996. 201p

Evans, Elwyn.   Machynlleth Toll Books.   National Library of Wales journal Vol VI/1, Summer 1949. Full extract by Gareth Hicks plus name index on Genuki

Gibson, Alex. The excavation of a malt-house in the grounds of Plas Machynlleth, 1994. Montgomeryshire Collections 85 (1997), p. 77-86

Green, Cedric C. The coast lines of the Cambrian Railways. including a general history of the Aberystwyth & Welsh Coast railway / Volume 1, ; Machynlleth to Aberystwyth. Didcot : Wild Swan, 1993.  282p

Handley, Roger. Walking around the Plynlimon hills : from Aberystwyth, Borth, Machynlleth, Talybont & Devils' [sic] Bridge. Machynlleth : Kittiwake, 2002. 32p Jones, Richard. History of Owain Glyndwr and his associations with Machynlleth. Machynlleth : Owain Glyndwr Centre Management Committee, [1996] 16p

Machynlleth and district, the official guide. Carshalton : Home Publishing, [1971] 40p Machynlleth from 'Pigot's North Wales directory', 1828. Cronicl Powys, No. 40 (April 1997), 17-19.

Morgan, Thomas O. New guide to Aberdovey and its neighbourhood : with some account of Towyn, Machynlleth, and the vales of Dovey and Dysynwy. Aberystwyth : J. Cox, 1854. 118p

Nixon, Margaret M. Craft of a byegone age is revived : [weaving at Machynlleth]. Country Quest 30/8 (1990), p. 36-7

Pritchard, Terry. Across the Plinlimon watershed : the walk from Machynlleth to Ponterwyd; [George Borrow's route]. In George Borrow Bulletin 6 (1993), p. 20-5

Sheringham, J D T. Machynlleth and Penegoes land tax 1794, MONT. Q/RE L2 - N.L.W. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 135-43 The parish of Machynlleth : church and parish accounts 1889 (presented at Easter Vestry, 1890). Machynlleth : Adam Evans, 1890. 20p

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Machynlleth town 1841-1901

Church History

MACHYNLLETH, St. Peter 1819-1828   - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Peter, Machynlleth on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Bethesda

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site :-

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site :-

Dick Williams' Dyfi Valley site has a list of churches and chapels including this parish

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru  (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Machynlleth section (in Welsh) has been extracted    

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Description and Travel

Machynlleth and Dyfi Valley  - a great site by Dick Williams

Machynlleth Today - a Cambrian News site

Machynlleth - by the Machynlleth and District Civic Society

Machynlleth - Chamber of Trade site

Machynlleth on BBC Wales

Machynlleth Town Council site

Victorian Powys for schools - Machynlleth and the Dyfi Valley

Machynlleth - on Wikipedia

Machynlleth.biz

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

History

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Land and Property

Victorian Powys for schools site - Plas Machynlleth  - seat of the Londonderry family

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Machynlleth in1842, and 1903

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Machynlleth Workhouse  - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Machynlleth


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 Aug 2009 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI