Nearby places
MEIFOD
Edwards, R Wynn.
A history of the parish of Meifod. 188?, 188p
Jones, Gwilym T. A headless ghost at Meifod.
Country Quest 30/10 (1990), p. 41
Meifod : a century of change : a pictorial record. Llanfyllin : Meifod Local History Group, 1999. 158p
Parish of Meifod :
memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 48p
Parish of Meifod : Main Independent Chapel :
Register of baptisms, 1821-1837. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2001. 32p
Parish of Meifod :
register of baptisms, 1761-1812. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 146p
Parish of Meifod :
register of baptisms, 1813-1880. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 116p
Parish of Meifod :
register of baptisms, marriages & burials 1649-1675. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c2003. Also 1675-1702, 2003. Also 1597-1648, 2003.
Parish of Meifod :
register of burials : 1702-1812 . [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 160p. Also 1813-1870 , 2003.
Parish of Meifod :
register of marriages, 1702-1837. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 106p
Scard, M Ann. Village with a tale to tell : a journey to Meifod.
Country Quest (November 1998), p. 44
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Meifod parish 1841-1901
Church History
Church and chapel data from
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,
1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 12614 acres; Population 878 males, 885 females, total 1763
- Meifod Parish Church "Erected - said to be in 1155. St Mary's supposed to be built by Madoc ab Meredith Prince of Powis" Attendance - morning 80 + 31 scholars (English), afternoon 43 + 33 scholars (Welsh) "The fees are 5d for every wedding which now average six a year, 6d for Burials, 6d for Christening if taken" Services alternately Welsh and English Richard Richards, Vicar
- Penrhos Chapel "Formerly a chapel of ease to the parish of Llandrinio - Consolidated chapelry since 1844- The new chapel has not been either licensed or consecrated" Erected by W Ormsby-Gore Esq. Attendance - morning 119, afternoon 51 Services in English Samuel Whitaker, Perpetual Curate
-
- Sion, Meifod, Welsh Calvinistic Methodists Erected 1820 Attendance - morning 72 scholars, afternoon 88, evening 123 David Griffiths, Elder, pro Rev Griffith Jones who is away from home
- Upper Chapel, Pont Robert, Myfod, Calvinistic Methodist Erected 1800 Attendance - morning 100 + 140 scholars, afternoon 120, evening 150 Edw Rogers, Deacon, Pont Robert, Myfod
- Bethel, Township of Dyffryn, Wesleyan Methodists Erected 1806 Attendance - morning 95, afternoon 70 scholars, evening 153 Robert Morris, Class Leader and Society Steward, Builder, Meifod
- Pont Robert, Wesleyan Methodist Erected 1814 Attendance - morning 62 scholars, afternoon 50, evening 44 John Williams, Deacon, Pont Robert, Llangyniew
- Middle Chapel, Pont Robert ab Oliver, Independent Dissenters Erected 1830 Attendance - morning 45, afternoon 50 scholars, evening 85 Evan Thomas, Minister
- Salem, Wesleyan Erected c 1836 Attendance - morning 18 scholars, afternoon 37 Richd Richards, Minister
- Meifod Room, Independent Not a separate building Attendance - morning 50, afternoon 30 scholars, evening 95 Evan Thomas, Minister
- Main Chapel, Myfod, Independent Erected 1816 Attendance - morning 24 scholars, afternoon 110, evening 82 Evan Thomas, Minister
- Sarney Chapel, Meifod, Independent Erected 1829 Attendance - morning 64 + 22 scholars, evening 92 + 23 scholars Lewis Roberts, Minister, Sarney, Guilsfield
- Ebenezer, Bwlchycibe, Wesleyan Methodist Erected 1813 Attendance - morning 150, afternoon 100, evening 200 Oliver Cadwaladr, Class Leader
- Soar, Independent Erected 1833 Attendance - morning 30, afternoon 35 Dd Morgan, Minister
- Salem, Meifod, Wesleyan Methodist Erected 1833 Attendance - morning 20 scholars, afternoon 39 John Tudor, Local preacher, Leader, Steward, Peniarth, Meifod
MEIFOD, Christ Church, Bwlchycibau 1862
- on the Church plans online site
Church of St Tyslio, Meifod on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Meifod
Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Meifod
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas
Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Sarnau section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (May 2010) Also Main chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2010) Also Meifod chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2010) Also Pontrobert chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2010)
Church Records
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1597, 1600, 1602, 1604-22, 1624-6, 1628-32, 1634-42, 1647-1880; Marriages 1602, 1605-18, 1620-6, 1628-31, 1634-7, 1640-2, 1649-1970; Burials 1600, 1602-26, 1628-32, 1634-42, 1647-1922; Banns 1838-1917
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
Meifod - on Wikipedia
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Dolobran estate, records "Deeds relating to the Dolobran estate in the parishes of Meifod and Llanfihangel-yng-Ngwynfa , Montgomeryshire. The deeds date from the time of Charles Lloyd (1662-1747), and are records of mortgages, transfers of mortgages and creations of trusts, of the sale of the estate by the Lloyd family to Joseph Jones, and of the repurchase in 1873 of a portion of the old estate (Dolobran Fach) by Henry Lloyd. Two documents dated 1878 refer to the acquisition of the other part of the estate by Sampson Samuel Lloyd, MP. The part played by Dolobran in the history of the Quakers in Montgomeryshire is reflected in letters, 1813-1829 relating to transactions for the sale of the Quaker Meeting House and Burial Ground at Dolobran"
- Glascoed, Meifod, deeds "Deeds, 1690-1782, relating to property in the township of Glascoed, Meifod, and Llanfyllin, Montgomeryshire."
- Pontysgawrhyd, deeds "Deeds relating to properties near the river Vyrnwy in Meifod, Montgomeryshire, 1562-1602, including Pontysgawrhyd and Pontysgawrhyd Mill."
- Ystumcolwyn Estate, Meifod, Deeds 1674-1854 "..............The Price family lived at Keel (or Cil), Meifod and owned property in Montgomeryshire, Denbighshire and Shropshire......."
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesMap of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Meifod in 1840, and 1902
Return to top
Meifod
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 Oct 2012 - Gareth Hicks]