GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

MOCHDRE  /  Moughtrey

Bibliography

A young person's guide to Mochdre. Mochdre : Ysgol Cystennin, 1991. 64p

Leach, Tony S. The woollen industry of Mochdre - a family connection. Cronicl Powys. No. 14 (1986), p. 16-17

Longley, David. A bronze socketed axe and a blue bead from Mochdre, Clwyd. Bulletin of the Board of Celtic Studies 32 (1985), p. 268-72 Mochdre bygones. Newtown : Mochdre Local History Group, 1985-88. Annual

Monumental inscriptions. Parish Church of All Saints. No: MM2, ; Parish of Mochdre. S.l] : Powys Family History Society, 1993. 72p

Monumental inscriptions. Pentre Baptist Chapel. No: MM3, ; Parish of Mochdre. [S.l] : Powys Family History Society, 1993. 28p

Parish of Mochdre : Parish Church of All Saints, Bethel Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, New Chapel (Calvinistic Methodist), Pentre Baptist Chapel, Zoar Methodist Chapel, Step-aside village inscription : memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 118p

Parish of Mochdre / register of Banns: 1824-1976. Mochdre : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001. 32p

Parish of Mochdre : register of Baptisms 1813-1866. [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 78p

Parish of Mochdre: register of Burials, 1813-1878. [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2002. 42p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Mochdre parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Moughtrey/Mochdu Parish statistics; Area 5025 acres; Population 273 males, 246 females, total 519

Church of All Saints, Mochdre on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Zoar

Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Pentre

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools - Map of Mochdre in 1903, and 1839

Occupations

Victorian Powys for schools site - The flannel industry around Newtown

 

Return to top

Mochdre


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 13 Oct 2011 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.