Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Trefaldwyn / Montgomery

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Trefaldwyn / Montgomery

Bibliography

Abram, Andrew. The Battle of Montgomery 18th September 1644. Bristol : Stuart Press, c1994. 43p

Barker, Philip. Hen Domen Montgomery : a timber castle on the English-Welsh border. [London] : Royal Archaeological Institute, c1982. 98p

Evans, D E. Montgomery 1644 : the story of the castle and Civil War battle. [Powys] : March Publication, [1985?] 38p

Jenkins, Hugh M. Musicians of Montgomery - descendant of the Bennett's. Cronicl Powys. No. 49 (2000), p. 32

Jones, Edwyn W Rev         The boundaries of Montgomery        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Jones, Edwyn W Rev     Montgomery Church           Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Knight, Jeremy K. Excavations at Montgomery Castle. Archaeologia Cambrensis 141 (1992), p. 97-180

Lloyd, John D K. Montgomery Castle, Montgomeryshire = Castell Trefaldwyn, Sir Drefaldwyn. London : H.M.S.O., 1973. 35p

Lloyd, John D K. A guide book to the Parish Church of Saint Nicholas, Montgomery. [Montgomery] : [Parish Church of St. Nicholas], 1984 printing. 9p

Lloyd, John D K. A guide to Montgomery. Montgomery : Montgomery Civic Society, 1988. 38p

Lloyd, John D K. The Robber's Grave in Montgomery Churchyard. Newtown : The Clifton Press Ltd., [1959] 8p Montgomery District official guide. London : Ed. J. Burrow, [1983] 60p

Montgomery Town Hall. Welshpool : Montgomery District Council, 1991. 24 leaves

Morris, Philippa. Morris, Davies and Jones in Kerry, Montgomery and Llandyssul. Cronicl Powys. No. 20 (1989), p. 53-61

Owen, Mary Newill      Lymore and Black Hall            Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 42  1932   Welsh Journals Online  

Parish of Montgomery, St Nicholas' Church, Sion Presbyterian Church, Wesleyan Methodist Chapel : memorial inscriptions . S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 140p

Pryce, Charles S    Borough of Montgomery; the Flos Lands        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 36  1912   Welsh Journals Online    

Remfry, Paul M. Bloody Montgomery, 1223 to 1295. Worcester : SCS Publishing, 1998. 44p

Robinson, W R B. Sir Richard Herbert (d. 1539) of Montgomery / Part 2. Montgomeryshire Collections 88 (2000), p. 1-23

Sutton, Alfred. Sutton' s directory of North Wales comprising the counties of Anglesey, Carnarvon, Denbigh, Flint, Merioneth, and Montgomery, and the City of Chester. Manchester : Looney & Pilling, Letterpress and Lithographic Printers, [1890?]

Waters, A B        Lymore, Montgomery           Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 42  1932   Welsh Journals Online  

Welton, Ann. The story of Montgomery. Logaston : Logaston Press, 2003. 194p

Worrall, John. Worrall's directory of North Wales : comprising the counties of Anglesey, Carnarvon, Denbigh, Flint, Merioneth, and Montgomery, with Chester, Shrewsbury, Oswestry, and Aberystwyth. Oldham : John Worrall, 1874.

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Montgomery parish 1841-1901

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Trefaldwyn / Montgomery area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Nicholas's Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish & town statistics; Area 3288 acres; Population 594 males, 654 females, total 1248

  • Montgomery Parish Church         Attendance - morning 247 + 60 scholars, afternoon 150 + 75 scholars              Maurice Lloyd, Rector
  •  
  • Preaching Room, Primitive Methodist             Erected 1848                 Attendance - afternoon 38, evening 109                 Richard Griffiths. Thomas Lewis, Lay Minister
  • Back Room, Duck Lane, Wesleyan              Erected before 1800             Attendance - morning 36 scholars, afternoon 45, evening 56              Thomas Jones, Chapel Steward
  • Sion Chapel, Calvinistic Methodists       Erected 1824       Attendance - average - morning 82, afternoon school, evening 100      Owen Jones, Calvinistic Methodist Minister, Castle Terrace

Church of St Nicholas, Montgomery on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1574-1641, 1645-8, 1650-3, 1656-91, 1694-1972; Marriages 1575-1641, 1645-7, 1651, 1653, 1656-91, 1694-1981; Burials 1574-1641, 1645-7, 1652-3, 1656-91,1694-1966
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the Herefordshire Archives  

Description and Travel

Welcome to Montgomery

Hen Domen Castle  - on the Castle Wales site

Montgomery Castle - on Castle Wales

Victorian Powys for schools site - Montgomery and the border district

You can see pictures of Trefaldwyn / Montgomery which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Trefaldwyn / Montgomery has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Kerry Street, Montgomery, deeds      "Deeds relating to a property in Kerry Street, Montgomery, Montgomeryshire, 1708-1858; probate will of William Berwicke, 1839"

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Montgomery in 1839, and 1901

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO222964 (Lat/Lon: 52.559826, -3.149100), Trefaldwyn / Montgomery which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Montgomery and Pool Poor Law Union Records  1795-1825      "Montgomery and Pool, together with 13 other parishes, were incorporated under a local Act of Parliament in 1782. This allowed them to combine their poor relief administration and to set up a workhouse. In 1795, a workhouse was built to the south-west of Forden.................."

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Montgomery Borough, records    1486-1885 (predominately 1633-1885)         "The border town of Montgomery grew up under the shadow of Montgomery Castle, established in 1223 by Henry III. The town was granted borough status by a Royal Charter of 1227...................."  
  • Montgomery County Court Records  1894-1956  
  • Montgomery parish records    1709-1997      "Records relating to the parish of Montgomery and the parish church of St Nicholas', 1709-1997, including parish vestry minute books, 1709-1781, 1843-1975; orders of service, 1923-1997; faculties, 1877-1977; papers relating to the Church bells and bell ringers, 1875-1912; correspondence, 1876-1972; tithe rent apportionments, 1920-1922; miscellaneous financial records, 1877-1993, including churchwarden's accounts, 1920-1972; copies of terriers, 1876, 1921; records relating to Montgomery Church School, 1770, 1892-1903; guide books to the parish church, [pre 1971], 1978; postcards of St Nicholas' church and of Montgomery, Pennsylvania, [20th century]; magazines and publications, 1865-1985; local history notes, [19th century]-[20th century]."